PDA

View Full Version : Auto VE , Auto Maf, PE & Timing Adjustment

maalmull
August 19th, 2017, 09:31 PM
Hi guys

I would like to tune my LS1B the old way (doing it in a single log just confuses me more) can someone summaries the tuning process step by step?

1-VE adjustment (well understood using the Auto VE write up)
2-MAF Adjustment ( is there a write up on this?)
3-PE & Timing adjustment

I am using a serial link between my LM2 and V2 as a friend helped validating the CalcBen1 & EXT.WO2AFR.

at this moment, I tuned my VE successfully and need guidance to complete the tune.

also, is there a write up to create/validate pids that are not available on the existing PID files?

Please excuse me for my ignorance as I am new to the tuning world.

Thanks,

Tre-Cool
August 19th, 2017, 11:14 PM
yep. check out the auto-ve tuning tutorial from the scanner or editor.

Help--->Tutorials

maalmull
August 21st, 2017, 01:56 AM
Thanks

joecar
August 21st, 2017, 04:55 AM
1-VE adjustment (well understood using the Auto VE write up)
2-MAF Adjustment ( is there a write up on this?)
3-PE & Timing adjustment
2:
this is just like 1. except you disable VE (set B0120 to zero) and log GM.MAFFREQ, and you create a map to mimic the MAF table B5001.
aka AutoMAF.

3:
without dyno: set PE to something like EQR 1.175 and timing to stock 2002 F-car HO and LO spark tables (note: uses LO when MAF is failed during AutoVE).
with dyno: start at PE EQR 1.175 and stock spark timing, make adjustment and check what dyno shows; when you increase timing and/or decrease PE EQR and torque barely goes up, back off that adjustment (give you a safety margin); if you see knock, decrease timing and/or increase PE EQR; remember, these are fast burn combustion chanbers, they don't need as much timing as SBC; pay attention to engine coolant temp.

maalmull
August 21st, 2017, 05:13 AM
Thanks Joe