PDA

View Full Version : Newbie trying to fix drivability problem, please help!

Wingnut87
June 29th, 2006, 10:01 AM
:help2:
Hello everyone, I'm new to both the forum and Flash scan. I have been using Autotap for a while and just bought the $250 Flashscan scan only tool because I couldn't figure out what my problem is with Autotap.

I have a 1987 RX7 GXL with a 2000 Camaro SS engine swap. From the time I got the new engine running, it has run poorly. It runs great for 2-5 minutes and then it almost dies at idle and feels like it is missing under acceleration. I have checked and rechecked the O2 sensors. I even replaced them eventually and the problem persists. Autotap reads reasonable values for the two front ones and 450-900mV for the rear two (I have eliminators connected). The MAP and TP sensors check out. The short term fuel trims eventually drift towards a -40% condition. I really have no idea what is wrong. One clue may be the VSS reads 0 mph all the time, but the wiring from PCM to sensor connectors checks out. Also, my aftermarket gauge reads the speed off the sensor just fine. Can the PCM have internal problems and still run the engine? I've been racking my brain about this for months.

My Flashscan with arrive tomorrow or Monday. What do you guys recommend I do first? I have been reading the FAQ's and tutorials and have a decent feeling about the system and am excited to try it out. I'm an engineer and learn quickly. Any advise is appreciated!:master:

thanks,
Tom

emarkay
June 29th, 2006, 01:44 PM
Did the engine perform 100% before the transplant?

It runs great for 2 minutes ONLY WHILE from a cold start? If so, that would be while it's in open loop and using the "average/best guess" fixed tables - you could pull 2 plugs and stuff a sock in the intake and it would still run fine then!