PDA

View Full Version : Since GM tuning is ending...

LSxPwrdZ
January 24th, 2019, 09:12 PM
Maybe touch back on these old P01 and P59 PCM COS's?

Boost control in place of EGR logic with boost vs gear
Launch control
Closed loop wideband control

I know this sounds very far fetched and I'm no coding expert but if they can do all these things with a 32kb Honda ECU from the 90's surely these fancy controllers with tons of I/O can handle it!

GMPX
January 25th, 2019, 09:50 AM
Well the P01 is going to be 20 years old this year, so whoever was interested in LS1 tuning probably already owns a product (with unlimited licenses) to do so.
I personally last worked on the LS1 PCM in 2006 as far as code modifications goes, I think I might have forgotten it all by now :shock:
Anyway, there is pretty much no chance EFILive would revisit and enhance the LS1 offering, I know shops still tune them daily and make good money from LS1 tuning but the is no business case for EFILive to invest the R&D time in to LS1 now.

LSxPwrdZ
January 29th, 2019, 03:33 PM
Very understandable sir. With coding I'm sure you could implement a pay to use scenario to justify the R&D but just wishful thinking mostly.

greasess
June 13th, 2019, 01:23 PM
GM tuning is ending?! What did I miss?

joecar
June 17th, 2019, 05:22 PM
GM tuning is ending?! What did I miss?
It's not ending... just no new stuff.

Supercharged111
June 18th, 2019, 11:29 AM
It's not ending... just no new stuff.

I wonder what's next. Remember when OBDI came out and everyone thought the sky was falling?

GMPX
June 19th, 2019, 08:29 AM
I wonder what's next. Remember when OBDI came out and everyone thought the sky was falling?

Well the thing to keep in mind is GM's security on the new ECM's isn't anything they necessarily cooked up from scratch, it uses proven security methods that have never been compromised.