PDA

View Full Version : 6.0 Vortec Towing Tune

Deveraux88
March 20th, 2020, 02:36 PM
Hey everyone,

I am new to this EFILive Life but so far i am way impressed by the way everyone helps each other out! That being said I have a 03 GMC Sierra 2500HD 4WD (LS1b Gen III ) with the 4L80e Transmission. I have a Volant Cold Air Intake w/Underbody Snorkel, Volant Throttle Body Spacer, Pacesetter Long Tube Headers, FlowMaster High Flow Cats with a Magnaflow Dual in/out Muffler. I tow a 30ft toy hauler that weighs about 11,000 lbs Loaded. I am trying to get some extra torque so its not so sluggish and hopefully to help the overheating issues. I am not to worried about gas mileage as the truck is paid off and is alot cheaper than a new truck :) Is there a tune already set up for this or do i need to start fresh? I have been reading post after post about similar situations but none that match my current setup.

I would appreciate any help i can get!

ScarabEpic22
March 22nd, 2020, 07:07 AM
If you want to just flash a tune and not think about it, I'd suggest contacting a tuning shop who can put together a baseline tune for what you're looking for.

If you want to learn how to build a tune for your setup, that's where the forum can help. The LS1B PCM is pretty simple to get good results from, you will need to purchase a wideband O2 sensor so you can ensure the Air/Fuel ratio is correct, otherwise you just need a FlashScan V2 w/GM Tuning. Look up the Calc.VET tutorial on here, it will walk you through what's needed to dial in your VE and MAF tables. For spark, you'll need to log knock and see if you're getting any knock then look to optimize the spark tables.

Deveraux88
March 23rd, 2020, 02:45 AM