PDA

View Full Version : Diving in head first

1morews6
March 12th, 2005, 12:18 PM
Well I just bought Flashscan/tune I have logged using EFIlive since ver.5 and done a few little changes with LS1edit other than that I am new to this game. First off I should give a picture of what I am working with.

99 F-Body
A4
3:73 gears

427 stroker
11.3.1 Compression
244/244 .618 112LSA
Long Tube headers
All the bolt ons.

I was running ok on previous tune but during dyno sessions discovered the shop that built the engine had screwed me on the heads and I was running out of air at about 5600rpm. (no more shops for me)

I changed the heads to TEA Stage 3.5 2.10 x 1.65

This moved the RPM range way up and I was logging some KR and a bit lean. A tuner had me make some VE changes and the car was running pretty good but I felt I needed to get more air into it so I went with the FAST LSX90mm intake (port matched by TEA) and the 90mm FAST TB, along with a 85mm MAF and Lid.

I changed the MAF table to match a 85mm table from LS1tech.com and fired the car up. Needless to say the car runs like crap

LTFTs are 25% both sides max out unless I snap the throttle and then it will fall for a sec then start climbing back up till it maxs out again.

Idle is all over the place, throttle response is also. I did not want to damage any thing so I pretty much slow cruised it home and headed here for advise.

I looked at my VE with the new Flashscan and it looked VERY bad so I played with the smoothing/blending and it made the table look good, but I have not tried it on the car yet.

Where should I start to try to get a handle on this?

Thanks for the help.

Maybe someday I will have something to add to this forum for the other nuts that had to have a 427 in an F-body

Steve Bryant
March 12th, 2005, 01:43 PM
First of all, welcome to the group.

Now to tuning that 427.

First what size injectors are you running?
Do you have a WBO2?
Do you drive this car on the street as well as the track?