PDA

View Full Version : Info on my tuning for 1000 hp!

nitrorocket
August 21st, 2006, 04:27 AM
Some people have asked questions on how I have tuned my twin turbo 1000 hp stock cubed LS1with 96 lb. Injectors to run and idle on ONLY 93 octane.
I was completely new to LS1's and tuning with EFILIVE. I asked some pretty simple questions when I first started and had lot of difficulty first eliminating ALL torque management. Luckely I did not get banned for trying this on my own. I have now been answering PM's and emails on a regualr basis, so I thought I would share some info on commonly asked questions.

I am by no means an expert, but here is some ifo that might help you out.:D

Well, my setup is this:

Base fuel pressure is set at 45 psi and being that I have a streetcar, I wanted to have low fuel pressure to not overwork the pump. This has also greatly improved the overall flow rating of the pump by running such a "low" fuel pressure. I am over 800 rwhp with no fuel delivery problems.

I also do not use the boost reference on the fuel pressure regulator. A couple reasons for this is the ease of tuning, there are less fluctuations and inconsistencies in the tune with just a set static pressure. Also, again, being a streetcar with extreme amounts of boost, I do not want a mishap. I left the boost reference line off because if it were to ever fall off or fail under boost, fuel pressure would drop about 5 psi and the motor would BLOW UP! If the reference is connected, it taxes the pump harder, which lowers overall fuel delivery and heats up the fuel more then necessary. I did not need more flow from a 96lb injector anyway!

As far as the boost reference goes for idle, it makes NO difference. Idle AFR was almost not affected at all by the 5 psi decrease in fuel pressure.

There are 3 key things that affect idle tuning as far as getting consistent lean idle AFR.