PDA

View Full Version : Duramax timming

Rambo
January 22nd, 2007, 04:56 AM
:help2: Can anyone tell me which way to go with my timming and how much can i go but still be safe:confused:

ziadmax
January 22nd, 2007, 12:40 PM
Adding a little bit of timing will get you better fuel economy and a little more power generally. It really will if you've opened up the pulse widths.

You don't want to exceed 40* total timing. That's main + pilot.

Rambo
January 22nd, 2007, 02:37 PM
thanks, im new to this but having a blast!!!

ziadmax
January 22nd, 2007, 03:31 PM
Yeah, it's fun aint it.

If you haven't been over to the Diesel Place, they have a repository of different tunes that can really help you learn the tuning basics.

lakingslayer
January 29th, 2007, 09:20 AM
:exactly:For a mileage tune there is a lot of info at the dieselplace. One of the members there did a lot of testing and is posted good info on it.

DURAtotheMAX
February 6th, 2007, 04:00 AM
You don't want to exceed 40* total timing. That's main + pilot.

how did you come up with that number? Im just curious...ive always used 47* max, but who knows...

ziadmax
February 6th, 2007, 05:09 AM
how did you come up with that number? Im just curious...ive always used 47* max, but who knows...

I kept seeing it in the timing discussions on the Diesel Place. Recently though I've been seeing 50* as the do not exceed number.

I guess I'm just repeating what I've read. I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night...

Never been on a dyno either. Timing is one of the more mysterious aspects of tuning, outside of the Torque Limiting tables.

DURAtotheMAX
February 6th, 2007, 11:17 AM
outside of the Torque Limiting tables.

especially on LLY's ;)

sweetdiesel
April 7th, 2007, 07:23 PM
Rambo
there is a table that will pull main injection timing b0921 on a lly
you will want to increase this i dont go above 40* in this table
pilot inj timing is not affected by this table