PDA

View Full Version : CASE Relearn

Fratsit
February 4th, 2007, 09:26 AM
I installed a cam back in September and upgraded to a 02 OS system a few months back. While browsing the forum here and at LS1tech I was reading about a CASE relearn.

My question is with the new cam and upgraded OS would a crank position sensor relearn be the smart thing to do?

I eventually plan to run my RR full time in the car, but for now I am still using the stock PCM.

R/

Frat

Happy Jim
February 5th, 2007, 01:39 AM
You shouldn't need to do the CASE even after a full flash as all the cal details are retained. I am no expert but if you needed to re-learn I think you'd know by now (presumably the car would either not run, or run like a bag of spanners if it needed doing).

Rgds

Jim

joecar
February 5th, 2007, 04:58 AM
A CASE relearn is needed if:
- crank sensor is replaced,
- PCM is replaced,
- stall converter is installed (change of "rotational mass").

Otherwise as Jim stated, the PCM stores CASE info in non-volatile memory which is not altered by reflashing.

Fratsit
February 5th, 2007, 06:25 AM
Thanks for the feedback, guys. I appreciate it.

By the way.... whats a "bag of spanners"? :)

Thanks again.

R/

Frat

Joel_SS
February 5th, 2007, 07:44 AM
- crank sensor is replaced,
- PCM is replaced,

Otherwise as Jim stated, the PCM stores CASE info in non-volatile memory which is not altered by reflashing.

Joe, you mention a stall being added.. You think not doing this could casue idle problems? I have some idling gremlins I cannot get out and I have a 4k stall and a CASE has never been prefomred that I am aware of..

joecar
February 5th, 2007, 08:38 AM
Joel,

From what I've previously read from GM drivability class material, it seems that the PCM uses CASE info in it's misfire detection algorithm (PCM uses crank sensor position error limits to analyze the rate of change of crank motion, and if it's outside computed "envelope", then it flags a misfire...)...