PDA

View Full Version : What causes "bucking"

zapp168
April 30th, 2007, 10:18 AM
Hi, I have a 98 Fbody. Cam is 224/581 W/114 Lobe sep. Long tubes, Patriot stage II heads M6.
I had the car tuned a year ago after the Head / cam and it ran perfect. I have recently added an STS turbo @ 8PSI and had the car retuned. I now am getting a "bucking" at low RPM while driving. It was not there before. I am REALLY new to EFI live and EFI tuning in general. I would like to try to fix this, but I would really like to try to learn something about it if I could. I have read some people adjust the set screw, some open the hole in the butterfly. I would rather try to get the tune to fix it if possible. :help2:
Thank you

Redline Motorsports
April 30th, 2007, 02:00 PM
Welcome to the forum! I don't think your issue has to due with the throttle blade holes or cracking the throttle. It's either timing or fueling issues. Make sure the car is not lean at those engine speeds as a lean condition can cause a "lean miss". I would also suggest bumping up the timing at those areas and see if it cleans up.

As another note; it's not uncommon that the overlap from the camshaft can cause a surge feeling at low speeds. Many times the overlap causes pulses that head back towards the MAF in which the MAF kind of "double reports" loads. A 224 doesn't typically cause this but be aware of it none the less.

I hope you have a wide band so you can at least address the fueling aspect pretty easily!

Howard

SSpdDmon
April 30th, 2007, 02:36 PM