PDA

View Full Version : Looking for milleage

bifster
May 3rd, 2007, 09:39 AM
Posted this in a few other groups but i figured the more that see it the better I am to get answers thanks.

Ok I'm a noob to this tunning thing guys but really need to get started on this program. I'm using the personal scan/tune tool and have only set things like trans pressure and shift timing and little things like that to help at the track. I need to get into the fuel and timming things to see if i can get a bit more power out of it at the track but also so i can change things around for the weekly commute to the city. so if someone could point me in the right direction on how to or where to read on this situation that ould be great thanks guys.
wes

joecar
May 3rd, 2007, 12:33 PM
Do you have a wideband sensor...?

If not, then log LTFT's and get comfortable with their behaviour;

Read the AutoVE tutorial and get an understand of what it's doing.

Then calculate your IFR table based on your rail pressure and injector ratings using the spreadsheet (if you have stock injectors, you may still want to measure the rail pressure and do the calculation anyway).

Then, create a BEN map using LTFT1 or LTFT2 or (LTFT1+LTFT2)/2, and leaving closed loop enabled (and MAF disabled), do the AutoVE tune (do everython ecxept disabling closed loop, and make a BEN map using LTFT's); this will not be as precise as using a wideband, but it will get your VE table close.

You can now set your PE table, and your actual AFR will be close/closer to your commanded AFR (if you had used a wideband, they will be pretty much equal).

Then you will enable the MAF and repeat the BEN map using MAFFREQ to dial in the MAF table in the same manner (past-multiply-with-labels).

Post your general tuning questions in this thread... the other threads are more "specialized". :cheers:

bifster
May 3rd, 2007, 12:41 PM