PDA

View Full Version : COS3 or COS5?

00RAPTOR
December 4th, 2007, 06:04 AM
:help2: Hey guys...newbie here...with a "newbie question. I have a 2000 t/a a4 and i'm changing the OS to an '02 stock version i got from holdencrazy.com., and after i got that done, i realized that guys are then changing to COS 3 or COS 5....what does that mean? can i do it? and is there a sticky or anything on how to go about doing this? appreciate the help guys!!!

Justin

00RAPTOR
December 4th, 2007, 09:50 AM
I think i found my answer....is this what they mean? first i need to do a full reflash of the cos that corresponds to my op system for the '02, since i am upgrading to the '02. then i need to do a calibration only reflash of my '02 tune?

ringram
December 4th, 2007, 09:54 AM
Yes Sir basically. Go with COS5 its the same as COS3 but with more extra features to play with. In fact no point using anything other than 5 if its available as the higer numbers are generally supersets of the earlier custom os's

00RAPTOR
December 4th, 2007, 11:16 AM
i can only find up to cos3....atleast in the tutorial....is it somewhere else of have i been staring at efi for too long? also, thanks ringram...it's starting to make some sense

dfe1
December 4th, 2007, 11:19 AM
The only potential "problem" with COS 5 is limited availability. I haven't checked the latest cals, but at one time it was only available for OS12212156. That's not an issue with the 1999-2002 PCMs which contain .5 meg operating systems, but the 2003 and later PCMs have 1 meg operating systems. These comments may now be irrelevant, but I figure they're worth noting because not everyone is using the latest software.

joecar
December 4th, 2007, 12:39 PM
00Raptor,

Welcome to the forum... :cheers:

If you have a 2000 PCM, then do this:

0. read your PCM and save to file; copy to multiple offline locations (e.g. to CD and to USB memory FOB; store in safe places) for backup;