PDA

View Full Version : Timing

petestoy
January 21st, 2008, 04:22 PM
I looked at the timing map on the LBZ and it is pretty complicated? Not many people seem to play with the timing, is there a reason? I have heard that most LBZ's only use table A but in EFI Live says that Table B is used under most driving conditions. I am fairly new to the Turbo Disel but why wouldn't you increase the timing a couple of degrees? Is it because of the complicated tables or another reason I can't see? I can't see how a couple of degrees could hurt it should clean up the burn a little? Cylinder temps should not increase that much? Can we just highlight the table and say increase by 1 or 2?

Hope some one can help?

camcojb
January 21st, 2008, 06:33 PM
timing is different with diesels vs a gas engine. For example, a gas engine loves to run 40-50 degrees cruising down the road at light load; a diesel is usually happier (for mileage anyway) running single digits, maybe 7-9 degrees max. As far as power, they do respond to more timing, but most tuners limit max timing to 28 degrees or less (although some of the good race tunes run 30-34 degrees).
To answer your question, they respond to timing, but a lot less than a gas engine in the cruising areas. And yes, there are several tables (5 on the LMM and maybe the LBZ) and many modifiers and limiters to the timing tables. Also different conditions use different tables and nobody that I know of has exactly determined when one is used over the other, although B seems to be used the most, at least at low altitude normal ranges.

You can add/subtract/multiply + or - by percentage to the tables in individual cells or highlight areas or complete tables.

Jody

petestoy
January 22nd, 2008, 02:41 AM
Thanks Jody, now that brings up some more questions.

If you were to say increase the main injection timing 2 degrees do you also have to increase the pilot?
Would you also increase every table by 2 degrees?