PDA

View Full Version : E-85,ifr ?

Lextech
September 11th, 2008, 10:17 AM
This may be a stupid question, but I'm going to ask it anyway. If fuel pressure and injector size are unaltered when switching to E-85, Does the IFR table need to be altered? I am unsure if E-85 flows differently across the injector as opposed to gasoline. I may try to run E-85 in the next few days.

Jeff

joecar
September 11th, 2008, 10:27 AM
Jeff,

I don't think E85 flows differently...

but its stoichiometric AFR is differernt (9:1...?), so B3618 will have to be changed.

I am also told it may run leaner so you have to bump up VE/MAF tables slightly (or IFR table down).

But, I have no experience with E85.

Joe

Lextech
September 12th, 2008, 01:02 AM
Thanks Joe,

On a side note.
I have been on the Innovate Website quite a bit lately. The administrator/engineer Klaus says NOT to reconfigure the W/B for E-85. He says to leave it setup for gasoline. The W/B measures in Lambda and converts the number to the fuel type that you have programmed into the controller. So---On a Gasoline N/A engine max power is at about .88Lambda or 12.9 AFR (14.7gas AFR times .88Lambda = 12.9 AFR) On an E-85 N/A engine max power is at about .73Lambda or 10.7 AFR-----If your W/B is set up for Gas and reading E-85. On a boosted engine max power is at about 9.8 AFR -----If your W/B is set up for Gas and reading E-85.
DISCLAIMER---To the BEST of my knowledge this info is correct---If it isn't someone please point it out. I haven't tuned anything for E-85 yet!!!!

Jeff

kbracing96
September 12th, 2008, 03:33 AM
Jeff, I ran my truck on E-85 for a while just to try it out. If your tune is spot on for gas, then you can do what I did.