PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to EFI Live

Bad Max
October 24th, 2008, 10:41 AM
Hello guys, I am new to this site and i have a Dmax LBZ with a lot of ATS mods and a crappy Bully Dog programmer that I have on right now. was on diesel Page and there were a lot of guys saying "Come on man, get rid of that junk and get EFI Live and you will love it". So I am in here lurking and I do not know jack about EFI Live and do you need a laptop to operate EFI Live?

If you need to know my setup in order to tell me what I need, please ask. I need as much help from you guys, I am just a newbie. :unsure:Thanks

Dtuner
October 24th, 2008, 10:54 AM
Hello Mad Max

A laptop would be helpful, your desktop may get a little awkward when behind the wheel tuniing,,,:) take your time and save everything before you flash, Is probably the best advise to start with, learn to work with both aspects of EFILive scan n tune, are 2 different things. Many people here will have good advise for you.:cheers:

Brian1
October 24th, 2008, 11:01 AM
At this time a computer is required for changing tunes and uploading and downloading from the vechicle. I the future there are plans to store tunes on and Sd card and change them with the EFILive unit only. As for modifying them I would think a computer is still required.

I would check out www.dieselplace.com forums. Lots of EFI-Live info in the forum section on Custom Programming section. If you plan to go that way check the Vendor list there and see who sells EFI-Live. Many include a free tune or 2 when you purchase from them. I myself have dealt with Nick from www.duramaxtuner.com . Very good guy yo work with. He can help or write a tune that can help you get going. There are a few other Vendors like McRat and I forget the other one but yet there are others. So check out Dieselplace forums and ask lots of questions and read the many post there and use the search tool as well. Many questions much like this have been asked and answered there.