PDA

View Full Version : My First Engine Tune (i'm excited)

Gordon0652
December 2nd, 2008, 05:55 PM
Good Evening! :welcome:
About a half an hour ago i finished my MS4 cam install with the supporting mods & underdrive pulley. Started it up and it sounds amazing!
Tomorrow i will have the car on the dyno and record some information on the EFIlive Scan. (i will dyno it in all gears with with the torque converter locked - if thats what i should do) The car is running really hard (rich, bad idle, ect.) of course, it doesn't have the proper tune. :doh2:
I will follow the "> > > General Tuning Information < < <" and see what i can do. I am very new to this,(:help2:) and the whole purpose for the cam is so that i can understand and learn how to use EFIlive.
So far the car has full exhaust, and intake lid. It has been tuned for these bolt-on thanks to a person who is a member on this board - thank you :].
Anyways after i dyno the car and record the PIDs i will post the run on here, and i would like to get some suggestions if you all can help out. I will have an LM-1 recording the AFR and that is sinked with EFIlive and calibrated.

Thank you, and i look forward to hearing from you all if you can help :cheers: (& i hope i am not stepping on anybody toes).

-Kenny

Naf
December 2nd, 2008, 11:47 PM
I am with you on the tunin side, but i feel its best when you install your own o2 sensor on the car and log while you drive normally...Dynos are great for top end tunin, but everything below 3000rpm ends up being ignored.

Upload your current tune, then drive around while the car is on its own CLOSED loop...If you notice Long term fuel trim going past 10, drive easy for you are super lean...Personally the AutoVe didnt help me much...Compared to my current setup, it lead me down the wrong path, but its not a set rule..Others have had success stories with the AutoVe...