Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Anyone have a 4.3 Vortec V6?

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member GAMEOVER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1,304

    Default Anyone have a 4.3 Vortec V6?

    This problem is only for my 1998 Vortec.

    For the life of me, I still can't figure out why my data logs won't link to my tune file. When I highlight a section in a data log it won't automatically link to the tune file....Even if I make a Timing MAP in the Scan tool, the info doesn't correspond/or is way off with the info in the tune file...sometimes off by like 10 degrees at certain points.

    The only thing I can think of is the warning I get when I open my Tune file and then open a data log i get this warning: "Vin mismatch was detected between Scan Tool(Vin#123456789) and Tune Tool(Vin#NA)....Vin numbers are from 2 different vehicle's"...The tune tool will not let me save my Vin# for some reason, always shows NA
    Last edited by GAMEOVER; January 18th, 2009 at 04:38 PM. Reason: 1
    2008 2WD Ext.Cab Silverado 1500 6.0 V-MAX E38(L76) & T42(4L70E) MAF Only CL Corvette Servo AFE CAI INNOVATIVE LM-2 WBO2

    FLASHSCAN V2 & AUTOCAL

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member Aloicious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    453

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GAMEOVER View Post
    This problem is only for my 1998 Vortec.

    For the life of me, I still can't figure out why my data logs won't link to my tune file. When I highlight a section in a data log it won't automatically link to the tune file....Even if I make a Timing MAP in the Scan tool, the info doesn't correspond/or is way off with the info in the tune file...sometimes off by like 10 degrees at certain points.

    The only thing I can think of is the warning I get when I open my Tune file and then open a data log i get this warning: "Vin mismatch was detected between Scan Tool(Vin#123456789) and Tune Tool(Vin#NA)....Vin numbers are from 2 different vehicle's"...The tune tool will not let me save my Vin# for some reason, always shows NA
    are your display units setup exactally the same on both the scan and tune? (i.e. standard, metric...) I had a simmilar issue and found I had a few settings different. I currently tune and scan everything in metric, except MPH. and it all works well.
    1996 c1500 gen1e 5.7L - the "LS31", 24x CNP, LS2 coils, modified T56, 12200411PCM running COS3, zz4 cam, custom MPFI, etc. coming soon: Twin Turbos

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member GAMEOVER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1,304

    Default

    I'll try setting everything to metric and then I'll try imperial...
    2008 2WD Ext.Cab Silverado 1500 6.0 V-MAX E38(L76) & T42(4L70E) MAF Only CL Corvette Servo AFE CAI INNOVATIVE LM-2 WBO2

    FLASHSCAN V2 & AUTOCAL

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    366

    Default

    Which controller did that use, the Vortec one?
    E85 is NOT flex fuel.

    2003 Chevy S10 4.3L LU3 LS1B Auto
    48 LB injectors
    Race Proven Motors 2114 intake
    T70 turbo.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member GAMEOVER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1,304

    Default

    yes.....
    2008 2WD Ext.Cab Silverado 1500 6.0 V-MAX E38(L76) & T42(4L70E) MAF Only CL Corvette Servo AFE CAI INNOVATIVE LM-2 WBO2

    FLASHSCAN V2 & AUTOCAL

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member GAMEOVER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1,304

    Default

    I might have to do the 411 pcm switch!
    2008 2WD Ext.Cab Silverado 1500 6.0 V-MAX E38(L76) & T42(4L70E) MAF Only CL Corvette Servo AFE CAI INNOVATIVE LM-2 WBO2

    FLASHSCAN V2 & AUTOCAL

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    366

    Default

    I don't even have access to a Vortec controller. Depending on what you are doing with the truck, that wouldn't be a bad idea.

    BTW, I have a bunch of wiring harness parts:
    http://www.s10planet.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17157
    http://www.s10planet.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17156
    E85 is NOT flex fuel.

    2003 Chevy S10 4.3L LU3 LS1B Auto
    48 LB injectors
    Race Proven Motors 2114 intake
    T70 turbo.

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

  9. #9
    Lifetime Member GAMEOVER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1,304

    Default

    Hi Joe,
    I've tried that....I went from all metric to all imperial with no luck....
    2008 2WD Ext.Cab Silverado 1500 6.0 V-MAX E38(L76) & T42(4L70E) MAF Only CL Corvette Servo AFE CAI INNOVATIVE LM-2 WBO2

    FLASHSCAN V2 & AUTOCAL

  10. #10
    Lifetime Member GAMEOVER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1,304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nevinsb View Post
    I don't even have access to a Vortec controller. Depending on what you are doing with the truck, that wouldn't be a bad idea.

    BTW, I have a bunch of wiring harness parts:
    http://www.s10planet.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17157
    http://www.s10planet.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17156
    $55 for the wiring harness?
    2008 2WD Ext.Cab Silverado 1500 6.0 V-MAX E38(L76) & T42(4L70E) MAF Only CL Corvette Servo AFE CAI INNOVATIVE LM-2 WBO2

    FLASHSCAN V2 & AUTOCAL

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. vortec 4.3
    By 770johnnyw in forum Vortec V6/V8 Specific
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: April 11th, 2010, 02:55 AM
  2. vortec v6 to vortec v8 swap
    By grezzmky in forum Vortec V6/V8 Specific
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 21st, 2009, 05:49 AM
  3. 08 Vortec Max cng
    By 05lly in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 23rd, 2008, 09:29 AM
  4. 96/97 vortec
    By 69camaro5speed in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 1st, 2008, 05:01 PM
  5. 96-98 Vortec 5.7
    By Buzzard in forum Vortec V6/V8 Specific
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 24th, 2007, 10:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •