Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: High speed onboard datalogging

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member limited cv8r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    568

    Default High speed onboard datalogging

    Moates has released a new product called the "Quarterhorse". This product basically offers real time tuning for ford EEC-IV/V PCM's.It also states that it is able to "log ANY parameter in RAM from the EEC-IV and V at sample rates well over 2,000 frames per second through the same mini USB cable (no OBD cable needed).

    The Road Runner has been around for some time now,and if my memory serves me correctly I believe that the ability to high speed datalog directly from the RR was an option that was eventually going to be implemented.

    Who would like to see this option eventuate if it is at all possible.
    It's all good until it goes "Bang"

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member mr.prick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,195

    Default

    I thought that it's not possible to connect a laptop/PC to a PCM,
    isn't this the whole point of flashscan?

    It would be nice but you should talk to Moates,
    bypassing may not go over well here.
    512k RoadRunner Firmware 12.14R
    FlashScan V2 Bootblock V2.07.04 Firmware V2.07.22 EFILive V7.5.7 (Build 191) V8.2.1 (Build 181)
    LC-1 WBO2

    _________________________________________________

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member limited cv8r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    568

    Default

    Bypassing what??? This information was originally posted on either EFILive's or Moates site.

    You are in the RR forum, so you must already know that you can connect to the PCM without the OBD cable.
    It's all good until it goes "Bang"

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member mr.prick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,195

    Default

    I meant for data logging.
    A stock PCM is not supposed to be connected to a PC, I went off track there.

    And by bypassing I meant cutting out flashscan from the mix,
    Is that what you meant?
    512k RoadRunner Firmware 12.14R
    FlashScan V2 Bootblock V2.07.04 Firmware V2.07.22 EFILive V7.5.7 (Build 191) V8.2.1 (Build 181)
    LC-1 WBO2

    _________________________________________________

  5. #5
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12,780

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by limited cv8r View Post
    Moates has released a new product called the "Quarterhorse". This product basically offers real time tuning for ford EEC-IV/V PCM's.It also states that it is able to "log ANY parameter in RAM from the EEC-IV and V at sample rates well over 2,000 frames per second through the same mini USB cable (no OBD cable needed).

    The Road Runner has been around for some time now,and if my memory serves me correctly I believe that the ability to high speed datalog directly from the RR was an option that was eventually going to be implemented.

    Who would like to see this option eventuate if it is at all possible.
    Yes we wanted to do something similar with RR, but I don't think Craig ever got it figured out on the LS1 PCM.
    I don't know much about the EEC computers, but I think the issue with the LS1 PCM was getting access to the CPU's internal RAM, the EEC PCM's might use external RAM which would make life easier to monitor what is going on.

    Cheers,
    Ross
    Need official EFILive help, please go here.
    For tuning support please post your questions on this forum (or other auto forums).
    Sorry if I don't respond to your PM, don't take it personal.


  6. #6
    Junior Member Mayhem's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Hi Guy's, I'm realy new at this so forgive me if this is a stupid question! Can I connect my RR to a laptop and connect my scan tool to the same laptop at the same time to monitor or log while tuning live? or should I run a seperate lap top for scaning?

    Dennis

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member N0DIH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    467

    Default

    You can use the same, but note the RR is quite busy and it helps to have the RR and Datalogger on separate USB channels. I tried on my Dell M65 laptop (high end) and it couldn't handle it, but when I switched to the rear USB and side USB it did fine.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mayhem View Post
    Hi Guy's, I'm realy new at this so forgive me if this is a stupid question! Can I connect my RR to a laptop and connect my scan tool to the same laptop at the same time to monitor or log while tuning live? or should I run a seperate lap top for scaning?

    Dennis
    I owned a Ford once, ONCE.......

  8. #8
    Junior Member Mayhem's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Thanks for the reply NODIH. Another question, how do I get a 512kb program onto my 1012kb RR? Is this possible?

    Dennis

  9. #9
    Lifetime Member N0DIH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    467

    Default

    There is no 512k or 1MB RR, they are all the same, flash it like you would any other. Whatever space is left is automagically filled with FF's.
    I owned a Ford once, ONCE.......

  10. #10
    Junior Member Mayhem's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Thanks NODIH, I did try to download a 512kb program a while ago and was not successful, I will try again maybe I did something wrong.
    Thanks
    Dennis

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 6th getting locked out at high speed!
    By trailermasher in forum 6 speed/8 speed RWD/FWD Transmission Tuning (incl T43, T76, T87)
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: September 15th, 2019, 05:36 AM
  2. High Idle speed after driving
    By Thumper in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 22nd, 2008, 12:44 PM
  3. high speed scaning
    By redhardsupra in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 14th, 2008, 07:54 AM
  4. high speed flash
    By minytrker in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 16th, 2007, 01:13 PM
  5. Use high speed
    By minytrker in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: July 6th, 2006, 01:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •