Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Licensing question...license key said "scanner only" w/ v2 scan & tune

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default Licensing question...license key said "scanner only" w/ v2 scan & tune

    Hello,

    My V2 just showed up today. The license sheet attached to it with the serial number says "scanner only". On the Help->Registration screen, I filled in the parameters exactly as listed on the sheet, including leaving "scanner only" selected.

    I've only scanned a vehicle so far, but noticed in the "console output" of the scanning session that it really seems to think I purchased scan only, rather than scan and tune. Just wanted to make sure I'll be able to flash the PCM, and if not, what I need to do to correct the situation.

    Should I just re-enter the registration info with "commercial scan & tune selected"?

    Thanks much
    --Tod

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    269

    Default

    The Registration card does not say Commercial Scan and Tune?
    What was the cost you paid for the Flashscan II?
    If it does not say scan and tune then that key will not work for scan and tune.

    Brian

  3. #3
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,726

    Default

    I notified Tech Support.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Thanks all...

    I paid $750 (vendor having a sale), no WBO2, it's a scan and tune.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Yes for that price it should be tune and scan. Paul, Cindy, or Ross may have to get hold of you and the person from the company you purchased it through to get it all sorted out. I would say the serial number should help identified the way the package was to be sent out. Hopefully the reseller to you did not make the mistake and sent the wrong box out to you. Never know if a stock boy just grabbed the closest item on the shelf. Just some random thoughts but again these people above will help you get it all straighted out and quickly as possible. Just give them some time. They are from on the other side of the planet.

    Brian

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Are the physical units the same, i.e., is it just a license upgrade issue, or would I have to send the unit back?

    Under FlashScan V2 VIN Licensing, I'm getting "the attached device is a scan only device and cannot be used for reflashing, so no licenses are displayed here."

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    269

    Default

    No should be a simple license number change. The units are the same. If they can confirm what you should have I would think they send you some new numbers to get it fulling running.

    Brian

  8. #8
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,118

    Default

    The "San and Tune" and "Scan Only" devices are identical. A "Scan Only" can be easily updated to a "Scan and Tune" by entering an activation code supplied by EFILive or one of its resellers via email.

    Please contact the reseller who sold you the FlashScan, explain that it is not the correct type of product. The reseller can then obtain the correct activation code form EFILive to update your FlashScan device.

    Sometimes a reseller will ship a "Scan Only" device in place of a "Scan and Tune" device if they are out of stock. In that case the activation code is normally sent with the shipment. Just check the package contents (including the shipping packaging) to make sure there is no other document that contains the activation code.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky View Post
    The "San and Tune" and "Scan Only" devices are identical. A "Scan Only" can be easily updated to a "Scan and Tune" by entering an activation code supplied by EFILive or one of its resellers via email.

    Please contact the reseller who sold you the FlashScan, explain that it is not the correct type of product. The reseller can then obtain the correct activation code form EFILive to update your FlashScan device.

    Sometimes a reseller will ship a "Scan Only" device in place of a "Scan and Tune" device if they are out of stock. In that case the activation code is normally sent with the shipment. Just check the package contents (including the shipping packaging) to make sure there is no other document that contains the activation code.

    Regards
    Paul
    Thanks, have sent an email to him. He's been a great help so far so I don't think it'll be a problem.

    And greatly appreciate all the prompt responses!

    Thanks
    --Tod

  10. #10
    EFILive Reseller kbracing96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    584

    Default

    Tod, It was a miss communication on mine and my distributors part, but I sent you a PM on PT.net with the info you need to upgrade your cable to a scan and tune.
    01 ECSB 1/2 ton 4x4 Forged 5.7 LS1 GMC

    Custom KBracing front mounted, BW S480, intercooled turbo


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. EFILive "Classic"/"Legacy"/"Historic"?
    By emarkay in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 2nd, 2008, 01:48 AM
  2. 12200411 retrofit, have efilive "VIN" question
    By rb1 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2007, 06:39 AM
  3. Scan runs "slow"
    By DaddySS in forum General
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: December 7th, 2006, 02:52 PM
  4. "PCM is in an Unkown State" & "Reflash Failed"
    By foxySS in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 8th, 2006, 11:53 AM
  5. "Service Brake System" message after tune change
    By mtnman in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 11th, 2005, 01:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •