Thread: Timing adjustments

Default Timing adjustments

I'm looking to play with the timing on my G8. I am a newbie and haven't played with timing yet. I figure I have to adjust the main high octane table. At full thorttle I was at about 22-25 degrees of timing. That seems like I have some room to play with. I spray the car occasionally but I'm pretty sure I can still advance it some. Any ideas on how much?? Also, I have no clue on how adjust it. I see that it's in grams/cylinder? How do I figure that out to accurately change the table?

Just because you CAN advance the timing doesn't mean you always should. Many of these newer engines make better power with less timing due to their more efficient combustion systems (chambers, ports, cooling, etc...) so advancing the timing may do nothing more than reduce your safety margin before knock. Since you plan to spray it, I'd recommend going with the lowest timing necessary to make the desired power and keep a bigger safety margin.

The best way to test this is on a loaded chassis dyno where you can perform back to back tests with various timing curves and overlay the resulting torque curves. If adding timing showed less than 1% increase in torque, there's no real reason to keep it in there. The guys tuning these engines from the factory are no dummies, and they know where both MBT and the knock limits are; so it's hard to outsmart them on a stock car anymore.
    ~Greg
    Calibrated Success - EFI Training and Tuning Done Right
    GM Beginner's Guide DVD available now through Summit!
    Engine Management: Advanced Tuning - Amazon's best deal for the EFI crowd.

I understand what your saying 100%. But these cars were tuned to run on 87 octane and I'm sure they left a few ponies under the hood. Anyone care to explain how to adjust the timing properly? I've also got a blown Camaro I'm looking to adjust as well.

Quote Originally Posted by JASON11LS1 View Post