Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: HELP - PCM DOA after just Reading it

  1. #1
    Junior Member Olympic Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default HELP - PCM DOA after just Reading it

    I set out today to install the tune I got from SoCal Diesel in our truck.

    I started by just reading the PCM. The process hung after about a minute, so I waited for about 5 minutes before pressing the 'Stop' button on the screen.

    When I attempted to redo the process, the ScanTune say's there is no calibration in the PCM.

    The truck is dead.

    Any suggestions on how to get it running again would be GREATLY appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Steve

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,169

    Default

    I'd try just flashing the tune you got in there. see if that works.

    Also are you sure you have selected the correct ECM not PCM to read?
    '07 TBSS, LS2, T42, 3SS, Black on Black on Black, Pretty much stock at the moment. EFILive will fix that

    '06 LBZ/Allison 6speed, EC, LB, 1LT, Leather
    Current Mods: EFI Live/ PTO High Idle Mod/ Factory Exhaust Brake / BD Full Bore/ TransGo Jr./ TTS Twin Lift Pumps/ MBRP 4" turbo back/ Custom air box mod/ BullyDog Outlook Monitor

    465hp/1008tq---7/25/09---Dyno Day Fast Specialties Tuning by ME

  3. #3
    Forum tyhee Site Admin GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,143

    Default

    Steve, just pull power to the ECM for 30 seconds or so, you can't kill a ECM by just reading it, don't panic.

    The fact that it quit mid way, make sure you have any aftermarket radio equipment off, this always causes problems for people. If it couldn't read the ECM then you are probably going to have the same trouble trying to program it. If it can read it out without a hitch then you will probably be safe to flash.


  4. #4
    Junior Member Olympic Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thanks guys!

    I think the first problem was forgetting to disconnect the aftermarket accessories (Pioneer NAV unit, Parrot BlueTooth phone, Banks SpeedBrake, back up camera, TPMS, . . .) It's going to take a day to disconnect all that stuff!

    The wife and I went out there to push the truck into our barn & I thought I'd give it one more try, and it started right up.

    Anyone know anybody that's in the NW corner of Washington that's familiar with this? I'd love to have someone walk me through it. Our goal is simple, just have a stock tune and a solid tow tune.

    Thanks again,
    Steve
    Steve & C. J.
    "Gracie" the Rough Collie & "Bo'sun" the Bichon Frise

    2009 Arctic Fox 29V
    2005 Chevy 2500HD Duramax 4X4 Crewcab
    PullRite 20K# hitch

    Our Arctic by RV trip - 3,000 miles of tough roads in the beautiful Arctic

    Our Arctic Fox & Chevy web pages

    Our Beaver motorhome Technical page

    The Arctic Circle

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member GMC-2002-Dmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,285

    Default

    LLY's are tricky some times.

    I have had a few be a PITA to flash.

    I usually just pull the radio and info fuses under the hood in the electrical center and put the alarms in bypass mode if they have them

    If all else fails I will yank the ecm out and plug the bench harness into it.

    www.mscservices.net


    Tuner of many, many Duramax and Cummins Diesels.


  6. #6
    Junior Member Olympic Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I didn't have a problem making a copy of the stock tune to send to SoCal for my tow tune, however I have not been able to get the ScanTool Dashboard to indicate diddly. It says it's connected and all, yet all of the gauges have lines through their names and do nothing. It would be a PITA if I had to disable all the accessories to us the ScanTool.

    Is there a step-by-step check list of the process one needs to follow to swap tunes?
    Steve & C. J.
    "Gracie" the Rough Collie & "Bo'sun" the Bichon Frise

    2009 Arctic Fox 29V
    2005 Chevy 2500HD Duramax 4X4 Crewcab
    PullRite 20K# hitch

    Our Arctic by RV trip - 3,000 miles of tough roads in the beautiful Arctic

    Our Arctic Fox & Chevy web pages

    Our Beaver motorhome Technical page

    The Arctic Circle

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,908

    Default

    Im in Spokane, WA and am from Seattle (head back all the time) so if you need a hand let me know. Havent touched a Dmax yet but pretty sure I can at least help you flash in tunes and whatnot.

    Have you selected PIDs in the Scan tool? Try loading a Dmax virtual dash file, the default one is for LS1 controllers. Then hit the yellow button at the bottom to start displaying data, red for logging.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, tuned, turbo mods, etc.
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  8. #8
    EFILive Distributor Trippin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    860

    Default

    The 2005 trucks sometimes need to have the "radio" and "info" fuse pulled under the hood. I'm not sure why, but this is the only year that this issue sometimes pops up on.
    www.socaldiesel.com



    EFILive-DSP5......Switch your Attitude!
    EFILive-CSP5......The Smart Way To Switch Your Cummins Tunes!
    EFILive-DSP4......Switch Your Colorado and Canyon Too!

  9. #9
    Lifetime Member killerbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,062

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Olympic Fox View Post
    I think the first problem was forgetting to disconnect the aftermarket accessories (Pioneer NAV unit, Parrot BlueTooth phone, Banks SpeedBrake, back up camera, TPMS, . . .)
    plus the AC fan, headlights and running lights on automatic circuits, so shut them off. All these things drop battery voltage in a short period of time I have found, especially if the batteries are weak. In a pinch I have had success flashing with a charger hooked up.
    Michael, Systems Engineer 04.5 D-max LLY, Phoenix, Arizona Email
    Custom Tuning Services
    DURAMAX/CUMMINS ECM's TCM's for sale, all years, 20% wholesale discount available
    EFILive's first VGT "Software Wastegate Tune"

Similar Threads

  1. v2.06.10 5/25/09 firmware/Reading
    By Cougar281 in forum FlashScan V2 BB Logging
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: June 9th, 2009, 08:51 AM
  2. Reading an E38 / E67 ECM
    By GMPX in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: June 6th, 2007, 06:02 PM
  3. Reading the P12 PCM
    By GMPX in forum IL6,IL5,IL4 Atlas Engines - P12 PCM
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 18th, 2007, 09:48 PM
  4. Reading PCM
    By 91LS1S10 in forum Custom Operating Systems
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 21st, 2006, 06:52 AM
  5. reading pcm's
    By ace68 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 3rd, 2005, 01:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •