Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tuning questions w/cam/header mods..

Default Tuning questions w/cam/header mods..

Just finished a cam/header install on a 00' C5 MN6. I started with the idle and got it working great. We pulled the motor on the dyno with the stock timing table and had zero knock retard. The A/F was a bit rich but damn near matched the values in table {B3618} PE Modifier based on rpm. Can I assume that the IFR (which was stock) and the VE table values are pretty close? After seeing that they where close, I leaned down the PE table and got the AF where I wanted it. My main question is back to the stock timing table. If the motor didn't mind the stock timing table, should I call it quits?? The timing ended up around 28 degrees at full advance for most the WOT range. The car made 388 RWHP and 370 RWFT which I felt was pretty good with the stock heads, cats and stock LS1 intake.

What do you guys think? As a newbie I finally felt like I got a grip on this tune as it only took me 4 flashes for the idle and 3 for the WOT! LOL!! :lol:

Howard

www.redline-motorsports.net

1-954-703-5560

2006 ZO6 895/866 with APS TT
    2010 SSRS Camaro HTR-900TT (798/801)
    2011 HTR-850R Camaro
    2012 ZL1 Auto (10.33@135 MPH) Video Here!

foff667

its hard to tell if a ve is spot on doing the work on a dyno & I would more or less go on the #'s you see in the real world on the street...so to say the ifr & ve are on just because on the dyno your pe is close to matching doesnt mean too much in my eyes imo.

I thought I remember reading somewhere on this forum that the values in the PE modified (commanded AF) should match the actual WB readings. Isn't that parameter based upon a ratio off of 14.7 which the NB reads to determine WOT AFR?? EQ ratio of 1.00= 14.7 AFR if the tuning is close to be accurate?

1-954-703-5560

2011 HTR-850R Camaro

Lifetime Member