Thread: New to Diesels

Default New to Diesels

i am new to diesels and I would like some very basic information about EFI Live. I dont know much about tuning, or putting chips into diesels but I know a lot of people that have them in their trucks. Could someone explain EFI Live to me because I am pretty sure this is the route I want to go. What do you need? The Chip and the Tuner? also how do you put different tunes in, and what is some other basic information about EFI?

I know this sounds like a noob question...but you have to start somewhere.

Thanks in advance!

BTW I have an 06 Duramax...which is why I posted in this section.

Do you have a laptop? It isn't a chip that you just plug in or a tuner that you just select a tune and download from. Its software that can be custom tuned specific to your combination. You can buy EFI from a dealer and get a tune or tunes with it. I for example bought mine from Adrenaline Truck Performance and I purchased a tow, hot street, and race/dyno tune.
    2007 LBZ 7.59 @ 90mph 1/8.

The chip is flash memory inside the ECM or TCM... you don't remove/replace it, you simply rewrite it in place.

The EFILive Scan and Tune software/hardware lets you read in your calibration from the the ECM/TCM, edit the various tables, and write ("flash") the calibration back into ECM/TCM...

It also lets you log data so you can see how the engine/trans are running, you use the logged data to influence further edits...

As Randy said, you can buy files already edited and flash these in yourself.

Welcome to the forum...

ok...so the tuner just over rides the existing "codes" so you can put different tunes in such as smoke, lope, ect? And you can make tunes on the computer and plug that into the tuner which gets plugged into the truck?

Im starting to get it lol. In your opinions is EFI the best?

Yes, EFI is the best tuning tool.
    2007 LBZ 7.59 @ 90mph 1/8.