Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New with EFI help

Default New with EFI help

Hey guys, Im new to the EFI world. I recently sold my caned tuner and wanted to get in to the real deal tuning for my Duramax. I have a few questions.

Since i have a macbook pro, I have been told that I can run bootcamp on my mac to run the windows software so I will be able to tune my truck. My question is, what version of windows works best and the easiest to use EFI for my mac? Windows XP? Vista? or Windows 7?

Also is there any EFI tuners in North Carolina?

Any tips or suggestion for me using my mac to run windows and EFI would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Trace

Hi Trace,

Welcome to the forum...

My $0.02 says WinXP.

I use Boot Camp to boot WinXP natively on my MacBook Pro... EFILive software works fine with it (scanning, logging, DVT, flashing).

First, install Boot Camp under Mac OSX, then read the Boot Camp pdf document carefully (especially how to eject a disc after the Windows install has finished)...

Boot Camp asks you how to split your hard disk and which OS to default to on power up (can be overriden by holding down the Alt key during power up).

Welcome to the forum Trace.

+1 on XP.

Lifetime Member

I would normally agree XP, but if you can do W7 then do it! W7 is to Vista what XP is to ME (for those who remember, ME was 100x worse than Vista and had a much shorter lifespan).
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, tuned, turbo mods, etc.
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

Ok, thanks guys! I really appreciate it.
    07 Chevrolet LBZ
    CCSB 4x4
    EFI Live DSP5 Duramaxtuner.com
    PPE & Aeroforce Gauges
    5" MBRP & DE Direct Pipe
    EGR Blocked & PCV Reroute
    PPE Ported Fuel Fittings
    AirDog II 165
    HD Tie Rod Sleeves
    S&B Intake