Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 42

Thread: How to create an extra external PID (linear WBO2 example)

  1. #21
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,490

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dirk Diggler
    I have a question about the grounds. My WB is powered from my Cigarette lighter. It is my understanding that the ODB2 port is powered on that circuit.

    Do they share the same grounds or do I still need to go to pin 4
    I guess a quick test with a multimeter will determine how close (electrically) the grounds are.

    Our new V2 interface has 4 sets of matched A/D voltage and ground pairs (8 wires) so potential ground offset problems will be eliminated.

    Regards
    Paul

  2. #22
    Lifetime Member SSpdDmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,558

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky
    Quote Originally Posted by MN C5
    EXT.AD2 is for the 3 wire plug ( Correct me if I'm wrong) EXT.AD2 is for the 2 wire plug.. right...
    All good/correct info except for the plugs.

    The 2 pin plug is for a k-type thermocouple - it won't read an analog voltage.

    The 3 pin plug is for both AD1 and AD2.
    Pin C (nearest to the 2 pin plug) is AD2
    Pin D (center pin) is common ground.
    Pin E (furthest from the 2 pin plug) is AD1
    Ok...my LC-1 has a system ground (white) and an analog ground (green). I'm assuming these both go to the middle slot on the 3-pin orange plug? I have the 12v switch source, heater ground and NBO2 feeds wired to a stock connector (off an old O2 sensor) that will plug into the stock connection by the stock bung. The system ground, analog ground, and calibration wires are all that's left to connect. Please correct me if I'm wrong as I don't want to blow anything up tonight! :?

    Quote Originally Posted by Innovate
    6. Connect the System Ground to where you will use the analog out signals. If you use the analog out signals as input for an ECU or data-logger, connect the system ground to the ground of the ECU or data-logger.
    7. Optionally connect the analog out signals to their intended devices. Note: the Analog Ground should be connected to either the system ground or ECU/data-logger ground if used.

  3. #23
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,490

    Default

    As the Innovate quote said:
    Connect the LC-1 analog out wire to PIN C or E of FlashScan's A/D inputs.
    Connect the LC-1 analog ground and the system ground to the same ground that FlashScan is connected to. That is, pin 4 or 5 of the OBDII connector.
    Technically pin 5 is signal (analog) ground and pin 4 is chassis (system) ground - but those pins are conneted to the same ground anyway.

    Regards
    Paul

  4. #24
    Lifetime Member SSpdDmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,558

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky
    As the Innovate quote said:
    Connect the LC-1 analog out wire to PIN C or E of FlashScan's A/D inputs.
    Connect the LC-1 analog ground and the system ground to the same ground that FlashScan is connected to. That is, pin 4 or 5 of the OBDII connector.
    Technically pin 5 is signal (analog) ground and pin 4 is chassis (system) ground - but those pins are conneted to the same ground anyway.

    Regards
    Paul
    Just to make sure I'm hearing you right, I connect the two grounds from the LC-1 to the OBDII connector pin 4 or 5 and then run a seperate wire from that pin to the middle of the orange connector (D)? Or do I leave the middle analog ground on the orange connector unconnected?

    Last night I tried hooking the system ground and the analog ground into the orange connector ground (D) and it seemed to work ok for the WB signal. Ground is ground as long as you use a common one, right? But, I think I have a problem with the NB signal (logged .00~.01 V). I'll be trying to fix that today. But, before I start it back up, I would like to make sure I'm not going to fry anything by connecting the system/analog ground to (D) on the orange connector.

  5. #25
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,490

    Default

    FlashScan's orange PIN D is connected directly to the OBDII port's PINs 4 and 5 so connecting your analog ground to any one of those points is ok.

    However, it is easier and neater to connect your system ground and analog ground to Pin D alongside the analog signal wire which will go to pin C or E.

    Note:
    In the next version of FashScan hardware it will be a requirement that you connect the analog signal and analog ground to the orange connectors.

    Paul

  6. #26
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default How to convert wideband afr:voltage points to an equation

    If you programmed your wideband's afr:voltage points, you need an equation that maps voltage to afr before creating a calc pid.

    Say the afr:voltage points are (AFR0, V0) and (AFR1, V1);
    you want an equation that maps wideband voltage v to afr;

    First calculate the slope:
    slope = (AFR1 - AFR0)/(V1 - V0)

    afr is related to v by this equation:
    (afr - AFR0)/(v - V0) = slope

    Rearranged this becomes:
    afr = slope*(v - V0) + AFR0

    The part to the right of the = is what goes into your calc pid.

    Example 1:
    (AFR 10, 0V), (AFR 20, 5V)
    slope = (20 - 10)/(5 - 0) = 10/5 = 2
    afr = 2*(v - 0) + 10 = 2*v + 10

    Example 2:
    (AFR 10, 1V), (AFR 18, 5V)
    slope = (18 - 10)/(5 - 1) = 8/4 = 2
    afr = 2*(v - 1) + 10 = 2*v + 8

    Example 3:
    (AFR 10, 1V), (AFR 17, 4.5V)
    slope = (17 - 10)/(4.5 - 1) = 7/3.5 = 2
    afr = 2*(v - 1) + 10 = 2*v + 8

    Example 4:
    (AFR 9, 1V), (AFR 18, 5V)
    slope = (18 - 9)/(5 - 1) = 9/4 = 2.25
    afr = 2.25*(v - 1) + 9 = 2.25*v + 6.75


    Sanity check: plug each of the 2 voltages into the equation and see if the corresponding afr pops out.

    Last edited by joecar; June 15th, 2007 at 07:33 AM.

  7. #27
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default Sample calc_pids.txt

    Here is a sample calc_pids.txt file showing as an example a pair of calc pids for AFR = {EXT.ADn} + 11 which is the equation for (AFR 11, 0V), (AFR 16, 5V).
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by joecar; August 1st, 2007 at 03:43 AM.

  8. #28
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default An advanced example

    This one works with GM.EQIVRATIO...

    BTW: I have been logging GM.EQIVRATIO instead of GM.AFR, and doing everything in EQ.


    Edit: attached's my new calc_pids.txt (I renamed my old one to calc_pids-1.txt).

    Edit: if you have FlashScan V2 and a wideband that supports serial comms AFR output, then you should be using the serial wideband pids (EXT.WO2xxx), see attached for example, look at pid CALC.WO2BEN (CLC-00-110).
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by joecar; May 8th, 2011 at 07:20 AM.

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    182

    Default

    So Joe?

    If an LC-1 and an LM-1 have the same setup voltages through LM programer software then why the 2 different mathematical equations????


    # Innovate LM-1 WBO2
    # ========================
    *CLC-00-928
    V 0.0 5.0 .1 "{EXT.AD1}"
    AFR 10.0 30.0 .1 "{EXT.AD1}*10"
    *CLC-00-929
    factor 0.0 2.0 .1 "{CALC.AFR_LM11.AFR}/{GM.AFR_B}"
    *CLC-00-930
    V 0.0 5.0 .1 "{EXT.AD2}"
    AFR 10.0 30.0 .1 "{EXT.AD2}*10"
    *CLC-00-931
    factor 0.0 2.0 .1 "{CALC.AFR_LM12.AFR}/{GM.AFR_B}"



    # Innovate LC-1 WBO2
    # ========================
    *CLC-00-932
    V 0.0 5.0 .1 "{EXT.AD1}"
    AFR 10.0 20.0 .2 "({EXT.AD1}*3)+7.35"
    *CLC-00-933
    factor 0.0 2.0 .1 "{CALC.AFR_LC11.AFR}/{GM.AFR}"

    *CLC-00-934
    V 0.0 5.0 .1 "{EXT.AD2}"
    AFR 10.0 20.0 .2 "({EXT.AD2}*3)+7.35"
    *CLC-00-935
    factor 0.0 2.0 .1 "{CALC.AFR_LC12.AFR}/{GM.AFR}"


    My ACTUAL A/F ratio at 15.0 to 1 is around 2.0 as a BEN factor. What am I missing (besides too much beer during high school? Have set my LM-1 voltages (both the same) like the LC-1 tutorial shows for EXT ad1

    Still stuck in the mud up here but gaining traction slowly!


    Thanks again, John

  10. #30
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default

    John,

    The default V:AFR curves for the LC-1 and LM-1 are different...

    LC-1 comes default with 0V==7.35AFR and 5V=22.5AFR
    LM-1 comes default with 0V==~0.0AFR and 5V==50.0AFR

    Those calc pids you posted (from sae_generic.txt which you should avoid editing) are for the default V:AFR curves.

    If you program your wb with some other V:AFR then you must create a calc pid for it (in calc_pids.txt)...
    e.g. if your LC-1 was programmed for 0V==10.0AFR and 5V==20.0AFR, then you'd create a calc pid for afr = 2*v + 10.

    Cheers,
    Joe

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. LC1 Expression - Linear or Non-linear?
    By LastCall in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 10th, 2009, 03:52 AM
  2. Where can I buy an extra LS2/PCM?
    By 1SlowHoe in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 14th, 2008, 03:17 PM
  3. How Do I Create a Map of C6101?
    By Chalky in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2006, 11:54 AM
  4. How long to get an extra license via e-mail
    By kp in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 17th, 2005, 12:46 AM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 27th, 2005, 01:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •