Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Erratic AFR/voltage in EFILive

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54

    Default Erratic AFR/voltage in EFILive

    Hi all,
    I have come across an issue with EFILive and my LM1 after I switched to a new laptop.
    I am getting a very stable and consistent voltage signal from my LM1 through the cable (3.5mm jack) into my V1 interface.
    When I turn on the Flashscan I get a very erratic and unstable voltage on the screen that swings widely (+/- 1.5+ volts)

    Since I have changed computers and with my old laptop I can't recall having these issues I was wondering what is going on.
    Are there any settings that I might have missed in EFILive that control these swings?
    Currently I have all three cables (red, white,ground) connected in the orange connector that goest into the interface. Since I get a good and stable voltage from the I would suspect that the issue lies somewhere else.
    I also log AD1 and AD2 but both are swinging the same.

    I need to do some AutoVE but can't do so until I get the AFR readings right.

    Thanks
    Alex

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,897

    Default

    Hi Alex,

    How is your LM-1 wired to the vehicle...?

    Are you powering your laptop from the vehicle...?

    Do you also get this when you do BBL logging with you V1 (i.e. with no laptop)...?

    Post a log file.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Hi Joecar,
    The LM1 is powered through the cigarette lighter.
    The laptop is running on its own batteries.
    The LM1 is not separately grounded.
    I get the same AFR swings with BBL.

    Here is one recent log w/ laptop and one w/ BB

    Thanks
    Alex
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,897

    Default

    Questions:
    - where is the LM-1 grounded...?
    - what have you got connected to pin D (signal ground) of FlashScan V1...?

  5. #5
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,897

    Default

    Something seems wrong with a ground connection.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Well I thought it is grounded through the cig lighter plug or the O2 sensor in the exhaust. It was never separetely grounded, but worked before.
    Which is Pin D on the V1? Do you have a picture or description? Is it the unshielded ground cable that comes from the 3.5mm jack? If yes that is connected to the middle port of the orange connector that goes into the V1.
    Is there a specific way to ground the V1?
    Again, the measured voltage at the orange connector and the displayed AFR values on the LM1 display are very constant.
    Last edited by Alex99; March 22nd, 2010 at 07:00 AM.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54

    Default

    I jsut looked at the LC1 tutorial to find out which Pin D is. It is the middle port as I suspected.
    In order to ground this correctly, what should I do?
    Right now the ground cabel comes from the LM1 jack into the Pin D. Should I just get a second wire that goes from Pin D to a common ground (cig lighter)? I would leave the ground wire from the jack cable still connected to Pin D right?

  8. #8
    Lifetime Member Chuck CoW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    465

    Default Buy a V2 and get a serial cable from TAQUICKNESS!

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex99 View Post
    Hi all,
    I have come across an issue with EFILive and my LM1 after I switched to a new laptop.
    I am getting a very stable and consistent voltage signal from my LM1 through the cable (3.5mm jack) into my V1 interface.
    When I turn on the Flashscan I get a very erratic and unstable voltage on the screen that swings widely (+/- 1.5+ volts)

    Since I have changed computers and with my old laptop I can't recall having these issues I was wondering what is going on.
    Are there any settings that I might have missed in EFILive that control these swings?
    Currently I have all three cables (red, white,ground) connected in the orange connector that goest into the interface. Since I get a good and stable voltage from the I would suspect that the issue lies somewhere else.
    I also log AD1 and AD2 but both are swinging the same.

    I need to do some AutoVE but can't do so until I get the AFR readings right.

    Thanks
    Alex
    Alex.....

    Buy a V2 and get a serial cable from TAQUICKNESS!

    I suffered with voltage swings and huge tuning problems using analog. Some guys say it works for them, and it might....

    But, I have to wonder...."HOW DO THEY REALLY KNOW it's working accurately or just LOOKS LIKE it's working???"

    My guess is that half of them "THINK" it's good when it's really not.

    Don't take a chance. The serial will eliminate 100 hours of frustration the very first time you use it.
    Chuck CoW
    CoW BOOSTER! Electronic Throttle Enhancement.

    - CLICK HERE NOW FOR MORE INFORMATION! -

    VARARAM, EDELBROCK, AMERICAN RACING HEADERS, BAER BRAKES, BORLA, EFI Live, Magnuson,
    COMP Cams, PROCHARGER, PRO TORQUE, PHADT Racing, INNOVATORS WEST, and more.



  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Update:
    I grounded the V1 as I explained in my previous post and it seem to lessened the swings considerably. Please have a look at my log to confirm that the minor swings I have now are normal.
    I guess this was the culprit so I can now go forward and figure out the voltage offset to dial in the actual AFR vs. the AFR in EFIlive.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,897

    Default

    That seems better... the EXT.AD1 voltage seems yo follow your commanded AFR...

    but: the CALC.AFR_LM11 pid seems incorrect, it ranges from 20-25 AFR...

    have you reprogrammed your LM-1 for a different AFR range...?

    Run the LM Programmer utility from Innovate and see what your LM-1 is programmed to output (i.e. what AFR's do 0V and 5V equate to...?).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Erratic AFR's at the track?
    By VTC_WS6 in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 27th, 2008, 04:26 AM
  2. Changed my IFR...AFR Is erratic
    By zapp168 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: August 8th, 2007, 05:19 AM
  3. LC-1 WB voltage Q?
    By 99Silver6.0 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: May 28th, 2006, 10:55 AM
  4. TPS voltage
    By driver456 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 23rd, 2006, 03:41 AM
  5. Erratic LTFTs after VE tune
    By mtnman in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 23rd, 2006, 11:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •