Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Boost with a 1bar map sensor

Default Boost with a 1bar map sensor

Hi I'm really new to the GM stuff (in my shop we mostly do mustang and honda) so please don't fame me I'm a real newbie. I have done a lot of reading but its not all clear.

We started experimenting on a trailblaser ss E67 with a magnacharger on it and I would like to ask some question

How come on a GM there is several tune for blowers application that dosent require a 2bar map sensor?

How can you adjust the VE table If you only half of it?

Is this the Maf that do the work at wot ?

Is there a way to use only the maf and no map like on a ford ?

Why dose the maf is separate between low and hi? How do the computer know want to change?

Lifetime Member

Use the 2 Bar VVE instead of the 1 Bar VVE.

Dont know about the MAF, usually with FI a lot of people remove it and go SD. You can run OL-MAF, but you probably will not be able to get it as driveable as you'd like.

Using a 2Bar MAP is a good idea, I would recommend one for your TBSS.

Read the VVE Tutorial included with the EFILive download (in Tune or Scan click Help->Tutorials then click Virtual VE Tutorial.pdf.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, tuned, turbo mods, etc.
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

But why is it an option to use a 2bar sensor?

How can the computer know if he is in boost if you only have a 1bar sensor on the motor?

Lifetime Member

You are just rescaling the VVE table to have good values past 1Bar, the ECM can do up to 3Bar from the factory. The ECM will know its in boost once it sees airflow values over 14.7psi aka 1Bar, no way a regular NA motor can push more than barometric pressure, it would defy physics.

It is an option in the E67 to use a 2 Bar sensor because cars like the supercharged Caddy CTS-V use it to control the s/c.