Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38

Thread: 6th getting locked out at high speed!

  1. #21
    Member Treurentner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    52

    Default

    No Changes on this...

    regardless of the torque or throttleangle.

    It ALWAYS shifts down form 6->5 at 230 km/h
    and if I lift off the throttle it does NOT shift down to 6
    if the speed is over 230 km/h

    I just added this short log to illustrate this..
    230 kmh 6-5 shift problem.efi

    And for the files (TC .cal) for those that can watch tem...

    Camaro TCM.zipCamaro ECM.zip

    Any recommendations how to solve this?

    Kind regards

    Marco

  2. #22
    Lifetime Member Tre-Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    827

    Default

    i cant open your files. were they downloaded with efilive?

    anyway to fix your problem you need to change D9420. this is the torque limits per gear. you will notice 5th and 6th are much lower than the first 4. i have mine all set to 900.

    but you need to log what engtrq numbers you are logging through the trans. mine only goes as high as 814nm. wiht is with a blown ls3 with 75psi fuel pressure on 60lb injectors.

  3. #23
    Member Treurentner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Sorry, these files are in Tunercat file format. But the tables from TCM that you mentioned
    are all alredy maxed out and set to 663,8 ftp.

    Next week the car will be here again, and we will log the tq numbers.
    But I think we will not have a solution until we definitely know that there is no hidden platform limit (may be from BCM) that could be made for warranty reasons.
    For the C6 Corvettes with LS3 and 6L80e (E67 and T43) these problems are completly unknown.
    Btw. the Camaro is supercharged with an EForce SC.

  4. #24
    Lifetime Member Tre-Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    827

    Default

    well to fix it in my ve commodore (G8) i set the speed limit to ecm module. that made no difference. so i then changed the above and it fixed my problem.

  5. #25
    Senior Member Dieselman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    121

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tre-Cool View Post

    anyway to fix your problem you need to change D9420. this is the torque limits per gear. you will notice 5th and 6th are much lower than the first 4. i have mine all set to 900.
    Good info I will try this with mine

    The strange part about mine is when it was all stock it would never drop back into 5th when in TUTD mode. Hopefully your settings will fix the problem

    Cheers

    Ben

  6. #26
    Lifetime Member Tre-Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    827

    Default

    that's probably because when it was stock all though it took a little longer to get to the higher speeds, your werent maxing out the torque values.

    big difference torque wise for a 2ton car to reach 260+ kph in 30 seconds vs the same car that does it in 18. :-)

  7. #27
    Lifetime Member Tre-Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    827

    Default

    so doing a bit of thread digging. still chasing the 6th gear lockout from 230kph.

    this time its in a camaro. for testing we just used a hoist. put it in tutd and as soon as wheel speed got to 230kph it downshifted to 5th.

    this car has over 900+whp and we have a top speed event coming up soon, so want to make sure we can use 6th gear if & when it winds out 5th.

    Anyone had any luck?

  8. #28
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,775

    Default

    I take it that each of the up/down shift curves does not cross any other curve...?

    and that none the WOT up/down speed points are upside-down...?

    Can we see the curves...

  9. #29
    Lifetime Member Tre-Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    827

    Default

    yeah the curves are far apart in tutd mode. for instance the 5-6th shift is set to 275kph but you can still shift into 6th before that. downshift from 6th to 5th is 80kph.

    as soon as you hit 230kph it down shifts. i had the same problem in my own car along with the 255 speed limit, but that is easily fixed by setting the speed limiter control to ecm.

    we might be okay with 5th gear as calculations say he should get to 205mph in 5th with his diff and tyre size.

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Any updates on this. I have a 6l80 in an off-road car I race and when I am in 4lo it does the same thing. It locks me out of 6th gear and I bounce off my rev limiter at 90mph. If I could get 6th gear to work it would make things much better.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. High speed onboard datalogging
    By limited cv8r in forum RoadRunner Real-Time PCM Emulator
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: September 14th, 2012, 03:35 PM
  2. High Idle speed after driving
    By Thumper in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 22nd, 2008, 12:44 PM
  3. high speed scaning
    By redhardsupra in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 14th, 2008, 07:54 AM
  4. high speed flash
    By minytrker in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 16th, 2007, 01:13 PM
  5. Use high speed
    By minytrker in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: July 6th, 2006, 01:43 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •