Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: 6th getting locked out at high speed!

  1. #31
    Lifetime Member Tre-Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Interesting. does the trans know if it's in 4low by any chance?

    could try messing with the wheel speed calculations to trick it, but then that would probably throw all your auto shift speeds out of whack

  2. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    48

    Default

    No the trans doesn't know that it's in 4lo. I originally thought it was keeping me in 5th because of the trans temp being hot. I now have 2 trans coolers and the trans stays 190-200 degrees during very hard driving. I am not familiar with the trans tables but I'm wondering if it shows me exceeding a certain speed or output rotation speed.

  3. #33
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I too have this problem and I have concluded that it is an output shaft RPM limit set somewhere in the TCM. If I change the final drive ratio in the cal the shifts all happen much later but the speed at which it drops 6th and goes into 4th remains unchanged. Really wish there was a solution to this. I am dealing with a car that has a low range box and it can't go any faster than 50km/h in the low range before the trans just downshifts into 4th. Changing the gear ratios in ECU and TCM and thus the perceived speed by the ECU and TCM only affects the shift speeds but has no effect on this behaviour. Also, using the scan tool DVT tab to hold 6th has no effect, it will downshift no matter what.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by baldur; June 20th, 2017 at 12:38 AM.

  4. #34
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    7

    Default

    No one really got the answer...?

    No we got 2019....

  5. #35
    Lifetime Member Tre-Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    827

    Default

    well i had sort of agreed on the theory above, but i've seen a table in other software where there indeed was a speed limiter.

    i think from memory i seen in it a 2010/2011 camaro os, but not in a earlier os version of the same year.

  6. #36
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    7

    Default

    looking forward....maybe the answer is in a .bin read of the tcm?
    tuning is not my business, but with enough time and reading....

  7. #37
    Lifetime Member izaks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    315

    Default

    If D9420 is the problem, I have checked VE, Maloo, CTSV, and Camaro , and the are all set to 0 for 5th and 6th at 3000.
    The Camaro ZL1 is set to 575 for 5th and 0 for 6th
    Not able to test at the moment - on the todo list
    2011 VE SSV 417 + CAM + Whipple 2.9FF SC + NOS + PPV front struts + Bilstein rear shocks + 6L90E with single piece carbon fibre prop

  8. #38
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    7

    Default

    just the torque limit.
    the ss doesnt need a reduction, too low power in this hear.
    Last edited by SuperSchnecke; September 15th, 2019 at 06:57 PM.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Similar Threads

  1. High speed onboard datalogging
    By limited cv8r in forum RoadRunner Real-Time PCM Emulator
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: September 14th, 2012, 03:35 PM
  2. High Idle speed after driving
    By Thumper in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 22nd, 2008, 12:44 PM
  3. high speed scaning
    By redhardsupra in forum Gen IV V8 Specific
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 14th, 2008, 07:54 AM
  4. high speed flash
    By minytrker in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 16th, 2007, 01:13 PM
  5. Use high speed
    By minytrker in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: July 6th, 2006, 01:43 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •