Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 8.1ltr question's???

Exclamation 8.1ltr question's???

Is the 8.1ltr engine harness the same as a 6.0 harness(1999-2006)? The motor is a 2002 8.1... This is my first time dealing with a 8.1ltr. Does it have coil on plug? Does it us the LS type PCM? Is it Drive by Cable or Drive by Wire?
    For some reason I keep thinking it's the Big Black Box Vortec type controlled engine...

Im going to work on it this week. Just curious as to what I can expect...
    Last edited by GAMEOVER; May 16th, 2010 at 03:39 PM.
    2008 2WD Ext.Cab Silverado 1500 6.0 V-MAX E38(L76) & T42(4L70E) MAF Only CL Corvette Servo AFE CAI INNOVATIVE LM-2 WBO2

FLASHSCAN V2 & AUTOCAL

What to expect? Expect it to be very sensitive to KR and timing adjustments under cruise conditions. 180* T-stat helps some with that.

1) The engine harness's are similar but not identical. KS locations are different and a couple other sensors use different connectors.

2) Yes they're all coil near plug.

3) Will be DBW for sure if it's in a pickup.

4) They use the standard issue LS1B controller same as a 4.8,5.3, 6.0 etc.

Thanks Big Mike...
    2008 2WD Ext.Cab Silverado 1500 6.0 V-MAX E38(L76) & T42(4L70E) MAF Only CL Corvette Servo AFE CAI INNOVATIVE LM-2 WBO2

FLASHSCAN V2 & AUTOCAL

throttle body's use different connectors....some ECM pinouts are different. Easier to just get an 8.1 harness IMO.
    2005 Silverado, CC/SB, 4x4, LT, LILLY/Allison
    12.9s @ 108 mph

many thanks to Ross and Paul

Quote Originally Posted by DURAtotheMAX View Post
    throttle body's use different connectors....some ECM pinouts are different. Easier to just get an 8.1 harness IMO.
    Really...

FLASHSCAN V2 & AUTOCAL

Can the 8.1 Drive-By-Wire be converted to Drive-By-Cable? If Not, I really need a 8.1 engine harness that includes the injector & Coil SUB harness along with the TAC Module(with firewall harness) and of course Pedal....All the sensor's are there but no wiring at all...