Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Need some help w/ AutoTap and my Ford...

  1. #1
    Senior Member ToplessTexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    119

    Default Need some help w/ AutoTap and my Ford...

    I haven't used my AutoTap rig (AT123 w/ enhanced parameters v2.05) in ages now. I have a 98 Expedition w/ a 5.4l that has the coil on plug design. It has a misfire (but no code thrown) so I thought I'd drag out the AutoTap to try to zero in on the offending cylinder. If you've ever seen how the plugs and coils are buried on these things you know why. :roll: After a bit of a skirmish with my USB to serial converters, I was able to poke around a bit and get some data logged. I've spent very little time scanning this thing previously, so I don't have a good feel for what parameters exist. I was sort of naively expecting a per-cylinder misfire counter but don't see anything like that. If somebody could suggest parameters that would be useful in identifying the offending misfiring cylinder I'd greatly appreciate it.

    BTW, I'd also like to say thanks to EFILive for letting folks keep their ATx cables on their upgrades. The only reason I bought the AT123 was to be able to scan both my Ford and Chevy and I would have lost scanning capability for my Ford if I'd had given up my old cable. Now that I actually need it, I'm glad to have it. I can imagine that if I didn't I would be miffed right about now.

  2. #2
    Senior Member ToplessTexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    119

    Default

    No Ford love? :cry: :cry: :cry:

  3. #3
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,119

    Default Re: Need some help w/ AutoTap and my Ford...

    Quote Originally Posted by ToplessTexan
    BTW, I'd also like to say thanks to EFILive for letting folks keep their ATx cables on their upgrades. The only reason I bought the AT123 was to be able to scan both my Ford and Chevy and I would have lost scanning capability for my Ford if I'd had given up my old cable. Now that I actually need it, I'm glad to have it. I can imagine that if I didn't I would be miffed right about now.
    That is exactly the reason why we did not request the AT cables back again.

    As for the Ford help, sorry I'm not much help there :(

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  4. #4
    Senior Member ToplessTexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    119

    Default Re: Need some help w/ AutoTap and my Ford...

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky
    That is exactly the reason why we did not request the AT cables back again.
    I remember hearing rumors of somebody having to fight a little for that. Just wanted to say that it is appreciated.

  5. #5
    Senior Member ToplessTexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    119

    Default

    TTT one more time for the new smilies.



    BTW, my misfire issue seems to have gone away after another couple tanks of gas so I'm writing it off to bad gas. Still have the "I'm not smart enough to drive AutoTap" issue though.

Similar Threads

  1. Ford Tuning
    By RNA47 in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 8th, 2012, 05:39 PM
  2. Ford/Lincoln DTS scanning with EFIlive or Autotap?
    By Iv_z28 in forum Tips and tricks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: October 27th, 2009, 11:20 PM
  3. Ford tuning?
    By nathans1987 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 6th, 2009, 02:06 AM
  4. Ford Tuning
    By Cougar281 in forum Lounge
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: January 3rd, 2009, 08:43 PM
  5. Ford/Chrysler Scan with EFI
    By 70LS_Nova in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 16th, 2006, 11:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •