Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: What is BBL?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    99

    Default What is BBL?

    I'm trying to get up to speed,...

    Reading the 7.5 scan tool PDF,.... It talks about black box logging, but never tells me what BBL is?
    I'm guessing that it is logging data to the V2, not needing a PC connected. i.e. Use the V2 as a stand along logging device, rather than a data pass-thru to the PC device. True?

    Can I BBL w/ a V2 & Ver7.5? (I'm not able to Program PIDs to the V2, or Read a log from the V2. The menu item's are always grayed out.)

    Is there a PDF that will tell me how to BBL? (Where is it? What is it called?)

    Can I get the V2 to read my LC-1 over a serial connection, rather than use A/D input/output? Is there a PDF that will tell me how to do this? (Where is it? What is it called?)

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    BBL = black box logging = logging in standalone mode (i.e. without PC/laptop attached).

    Now there also is BBF (BB flashing)... this has two separate operations: BBR (BB read) and BBW (BB write) of the PCM's flash.

    Please read these threads:
    showthread.php?13836-New-V2-help-find-exlporer
    showthread.php?13823-Connecting-LC1-to-V2

    Also please read the attached doc carefully before upgrading your V2.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FeetDry View Post

    Can I BBL w/ a V2 & Ver7.5? (I'm not able to Program PIDs to the V2, or Read a log from the V2. The menu item's are always grayed out.) - Don't use V7.5 to programme the V2 with your PID choices, that's a hangback to the old V1 box. Use "Scan & Tune" application to programme your desires into the V2.

    Can I get the V2 to read my LC-1 over a serial connection, rather than use A/D input/output? Is there a PDF that will tell me how to do this? (Where is it? What is it called?) - Yep, follow links as Joe says, but in essence when you "setup" your V2 with "Scan & Tune" you can tell it to always log serial input and then select the type of Wideband that you have.

    Thanks


    Regards

    Jim
    Last edited by Happy Jim; June 13th, 2010 at 11:14 PM. Reason: Format...again
    2000 LS1 M6, No EGR/Air/PS/CATs. TR230 Cam, COS3, OLSD, LC1 Wideband fitted, Procharger P1SC, 2 Bar MAP, Siemans Dekka 60Lb Injectors.
    All wrapped up in a 2000Lb AC Cobra Replica

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    99

    Default

    I'm reading: Serial Wideband Tutorial.pdf Dated Aug 2008.
    I'm good up to the options.ini comment. (page 6) I'm not finding the ini file.
    I have the latest 8.1.2 Bld 97. What I see with the EExpl, does not match what is in the PDF, image 13.

    When trying to select PIDs on the V2, it complains about "options.txt".

    Can you direct me to a newer procedure, or send me newer instructions?
    Thanks

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    99

    Default

    I think I found it,... clicked the EExpl Home button. There is another EFI Live folder that I was not aware of. C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\EFILive\V8\Config

    I'm thinking the options.txt needs to be written to the V2. Do I copy all the files in \config\*.* to the V2?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    99

    Default

    I tried to move ALL the files over to the V2 and got a "Write failure".
    Not knowing what I am doing, I need some guidance.

    There is a options.txt file in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\EFILive\V8\Config, and a newer one (4 days old) in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\EFILive\V8\tmp. Which should I use?

    The *.pmm files appear to be the important ones. Do I move them to the V2?

    It looks like only a few PCM's are currently support by BBL. True?

    ;Caption Active Modules (Engine&Trans) Hot Key Dashboard
    ;----------------- ------ -------------------------- -------- --------------------------
    LS1|(sample), Y, LS1B_A, 1
    LS2|(sample), Y, E38&T43, 2
    LB7|(sample), Y, LB7&AL5, 3
    LMM|(sample), Y, LMM&AL6, 4
    Unused, N
    .
    .
    .

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    Do this:
    - use EE to format the Config space, then exit EE.
    - use S&T to create the pidlists (Options.txt) and flash it to V2.

    Define pidlists only for the controllers you want to log from, delete all other pidlists.
    Last edited by joecar; May 27th, 2011 at 10:26 AM.

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    From the other thread:
    EE is used for:
    - flashing bootblock/firmware into V2,
    - formatting the Config space on V2,
    - setting V2 splash screen and date/time,
    - retrieving BBL and BBR files,
    - uploading BBW (.ctd) files.

    S&T is used for:
    - setting/programming V2 options,
    - creating/setting/programming V2 BBL pids/pidlists,
    - creating/setting/programming V2 BBR/BBW modules (PCM, ECM, TCM).

  9. #9
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,752

    Default

    See the pics in this thread: showthread.php?13836-New-V2-help-find-exlporer
    Last edited by joecar; May 27th, 2011 at 10:27 AM.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    99

    Default

    I was able to grab a log today.
    I don't understand the Ver8 F4 Tune Settings tab. This is the tune file I wish to save on the PC? Or, a tune I wish to move to the V2? Or, a tune I wish to write to PCM? Or, one that I will PC edit later?
    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •