Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: E38 Brake Switch PID: BBL vs. ScanTool

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member swingtan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,590

    Default E38 Brake Switch PID: BBL vs. ScanTool

    For some time now I've been logging the brake pedal in the E38 via the BBL PID, BRKR.

    In the V2, it displays correctly and indicates when the brake is applied as can be seen here....

    Brake Off


    Brake On


    The thing is though, is that I can't seem to find this PID in ScanTool. I've tried looking everywhere and can't find it in the selected PID list or in the available PID's for charting or gauges. Has anyone actually seen this working in ScanTool or was it missed at some point?

    Simon.

  2. #2
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,145

    Default

    GM.BRKR with sub PIDs:
    Code:
       EBPSW        "Brake Extended Travel Switch"          "Inactive"        "Active
       BPSW         "Cruise/ETC/TCC Brake Switch"           "Inactive"        "Active
       BPA          "Brake Pedal Apply"                     "Inactive"        "Active
       BPMTF        "Brake Pedal Moderate Travel Fault"     "Off"             "On"
       BPMT         "Brake Pedal Moderate Travel"           "Off"             "On"
       BPITF        "Brake Pedal Initial Travel Fault"      "Off"             "On"
       BPIT         "Brake Pedal Initial Travel"            "Off"             "On"
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member swingtan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,590

    Default

    Is this an OS specific thing? I certainly don't see any of that in my PID lists. The data is in the raw log file though.....

    [PID],37
    CALC.BEN1_E38=0
    SAE.IAT=0
    SAE.AAT=1
    SAE.SPARKADV=2
    SAE.MAP=3
    SAE.VSS=4
    GM.ETCTP=5
    GM.APP=7
    SAE.ECT=9
    E38.INVLVTMP_DMA=10
    GM.KNKRET=12
    E38.OCTSCL_DMA=13
    SAE.MAF=15
    GM.MAFFREQ2=17
    E38.APCYL_DMA=19
    SAE.RPM=21
    E38.AFRATIO_DMA=23
    SAE.CATEMP11=25
    SAE.CATEMP21=27
    GM.INJPWB2=29
    GM.INJPWB1=31
    SAE.SHRTFT2=33
    SAE.SHRTFT1=34
    GM.TRQENG_C=35
    GM.HO2S11=37
    GM.HO2S12=38
    GM.HO2S21=39
    GM.HO2S22=40
    GM.BRKR=41
    EXT.WO2ST1=42
    EXT.WO2LAM1=44
    EXT.WO2AFR1=46
    EXT.WO2EQR1=48
    EXT.WO2ST2=50
    EXT.WO2LAM2=52
    EXT.WO2AFR2=54
    EXT.WO2EQR2=56
    I'd like to set up a virtual dash that shows the brake application points as I think it would be a great help in circuit racing.

    Simon.

  4. #4
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,145

    Default

    You can't chart PIDs that are bit-mapped PIDs. You can add a "status" item to the dashbord and use it to display the bit-mapped PID.
    Or you can create a calculated PID to extract just the info you want from that PID and cause it to return a numerical value that can be charted.

    For example:
    Code:
    # ==============================================================================
    # Units
    # -------------------
    # See sae_generic.txt for more information on the *UNITS section
    
    *UNITS
    
    #Code     System     Abbr     Description
    #-------- ---------- -------- -------------------------------------------------------------
    
    None      None       ""       "No units"
    
    
    # ==============================================================================
    # Add slot definitions here
    # --------------------------------
    # See sae_generic.txt for more information on "SLOT" formats
    #
    #Units             Low          High      Fmt  Expression
    #------------ ------------- ------------- ---- --------------------------------------------------------------
    *CLC-00-0001
    None                0             1       0    "iff({GM.BRKR}&8)=8,1,0)"
    
    
    # ==============================================================================
    *PRN - Parameter Reference Numbers
    # --------------------------------
    # See sae_generic.txt for more information on the *PRN section
    #
    #Code                      PRN  SLOT         Units            System           Description
    #------------------------- ---- ------------ ---------------- ---------------- ------------------------------------------
    
    CALC.BRKPEDAL              F400 CLC-00-0001  None             Brakes           Brake pedal active
    The expression iff({GM.BRKR}&8)=8,1,0) returns 1 if the 3rd bit is set, otherwise it returns 0. You can tell which bit you want by right clicking on the PID and selecting "More info...". The bits are numbered from top to bottom where the top item is bit 7 and the bottom item is bit 0.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member swingtan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,590

    Default

    So, So close.....

    Brake {CALC.BRKPEDAL}

    Expression:
    = iff({GM.BRKR}&8)=8,1,0)
    is NOT valid because:
    Unknown parameter {GM.BRKR}, at position 14.

    PID value cannot be determined because
    the following error would occur:
    Expression not valid: Unknown parameter {GM.BRKR}, at position 14.

    ANy ideas on this one?

  6. #6
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,145

    Default

    When you display the list of ALL available PIDs on the F8 tab page do you see the PID GM.BRKR?

    You may need to uncheck the "Supported" check box to see it, in case it has been marked unsupported.

    Do you see ANY GM.* PIDs? If not, try setting a GM VIN using File->Enter VIN. You only need to specify 1G1xxxxxxxxxxxxxx because EFILive only uses the first 3 characters to determine it it should load the GM enhanced PIDs.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member swingtan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,590

    Default

    I see many "GM.*" PIDs but no "GM.BRKR" ( which is what I was actually asking about originally ). I jump from GM.BOXRATIO to GM.CALCVAC_LS2 ( ordered by Parameter ).

    Simon

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,887

    Default

    Simon, which scantool build version do you have...?

  9. #9
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,887

    Default

    Paul, do you need to call raw() on bit field pids before calling iff()...?

  10. #10
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by swingtan View Post
    I see many "GM.*" PIDs but no "GM.BRKR" ( which is what I was actually asking about originally ). I jump from GM.BOXRATIO to GM.CALCVAC_LS2 ( ordered by Parameter ).

    Simon
    Check the date/time stamp on the file: C:\Program Files\EFILive\V7.5\Configuration\gm_enhanced.prn
    It should be May 31, 2010 or later.
    With that file version installed on a test PC here, the PID GM.BRKR is available.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Brake switch power & TCC
    By LS1_Dragster in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 22nd, 2009, 01:22 PM
  2. turbo brake switch??????
    By justin123 in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: May 13th, 2009, 02:14 PM
  3. e38 dma pid SCALEDCORVE_ doesnt work plus a bad calc pid
    By ringram in forum FlashScan V2 BB Logging
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 30th, 2008, 11:28 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •