Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: LC-1 - cannot connect

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    35

    Default LC-1 - cannot connect

    Okay, I installed my LC-1 per the instructions at http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/r...1_tutorial.pdf :

    Red wire going to a free Acc port in the fuse box
    Yellow goes to pin C on a Flashscan v1
    Blue, Green, and White go to pin D
    Black goes to the LED and pushbutton (in parallel) and then through them to ground.
    Brown is not connected.

    Wideband is on a separate bung, it will not be emulating an NB sensor.

    It doesn't work. The LED is constant, pressing the button to start calibration does not do anything other than turn off the LED. Trying to connect via LM Programmer gives a "please connect the device to a serial port" error message. My laptop is old enough to have a real serial port so I am not going through an adapter.

    I saw a thread that looked similar at http://forum.efilive.com/showthread....-lc-1-help-plz. but frankly it confused me. Are the instructions as given from Innovate incomplete -- should there be a connection between D and ground, or should brown/blue/white be connected somewhere other than D.. or is there a power switch somewhere on the LC-1 that I'm not seeing or something along those lines?

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,407

    Default

    Blue has to go to vehicle's battery ground.

    Connect the ground from the bottom of the LED/pushbutton to the same ground as blue.

    Try with white grounded and floating.

  3. #3
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,407

    Default

    Sanity check:

    red -> power (switched, fused, battery)
    blue -> ground (battery)

    black-> LED anode, pushbutton
    white -> LED cathode, pushbutton

    brown -> V1 pin C (signal)
    green or white or sheath -> V1 pin D (signal ground)

    yellow is programmed for NBO2 signal emulation; yellow can go to V1 pin C, but you have to reprogram the LC-1.

    May or may not have to also connect green and/or white to battery ground (mine works regardless).

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,407

    Default

    To program the LC-1 using the LM Programmer software, you have to connect this:
    LC-1 SERIAL IN <- terminator plug (looks like a blanked 2.5mm stereo plug),
    LC-1 SERIAL OUT -> PC

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Thanks, Joe. The ground made some difference; the programmer now can find the WB.

    However, neither EFILive nor LogWorks reads anything from it. EFILive just reports 0.0 and logworks reports "No real time data detected".

    Hopefully I'm just missing something small.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    35

    Default

    After a reboot, LogWorks can successfully talk to the sensor. However, I still get no data through either the yellow or brown wires. I've tried with white both to pin D and floating, with no difference.

    I have both green and blue connected to pin D, with an additional wire from pin D to the vehicle ground. That does seem to be sufficient for LogWorks, anyway -- is that the correct way?

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,407

    Default

    Try removing blue from pin D (but keep blue going to vehicle/battery ground).

    The signal on the brown or yellow wires is wrt green or sheath.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Thanks, Joe. Does pin D also get connected to vehicle ground, or just to the green wire?

  9. #9
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,407

    Default

    Pin D's primary function is to connect to signal ground... so try just the green wire.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Sigh... still no joy (I had such high hopes).

    Now LogWorks reports an AFR that bounces around all over the place -- even with power on/engine off -- so now I'm thoroughly confused. Reconnecting blue+ground and/or white to pin D doesn't get it stable again, and of course EFILive still doesn't get anything useful.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. can not connect
    By Jetmech in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: November 29th, 2010, 07:31 AM
  2. Help please trying to connect
    By 5.7senator in forum EFILive V4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 21st, 2009, 09:02 AM
  3. Can't connect?
    By dbh86 in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 6th, 2008, 02:35 PM
  4. cant connect
    By mickkk in forum Duramax LLY
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: December 21st, 2006, 08:40 AM
  5. HELP: Can't Connect
    By tdzee in forum Tips and tricks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 26th, 2005, 11:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •