Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: Autocal Questions

  1. #11
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    631

    Default

    Andrew you might want to add the AutoCal to the FlashScan Hardware section.

  2. #12
    Lifetime Member killerbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,044

    Default

    I still need clarification on one thing:

    Are all autocal units inextricably linked to the V2 serial number provided at time of purchase?

    If so, is there any way to re-link them to another SN before they are used? This just doesn't make sense to me. ...I will live with whatever the answer is, and I hope I haven't been offensive. I am sure there has been careful thought put into this, and either I am not tracking, or there is a good reason for this.

    PS: thank you Andrew for your email responses.
    Last edited by killerbee; September 1st, 2010 at 07:32 AM.
    Michael, Systems Engineer 04.5 D-max LLY, Phoenix, Arizona Email
    Custom Tuning Services
    DURAMAX/CUMMINS ECM's TCM's for sale, all years, 20% wholesale discount available
    EFILive's first VGT "Software Wastegate Tune"

  3. #13
    EFILive Crew Site Admin Tordne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    The AutoCal V2s are supplied completely unlinked. The FlashScan SN input on the AutoCal order page is really just a final prompt so someone doesn't order the product without having a V2 device to link with.

    The AutoCal device can actually be linked with multiple V2 devices, but the License Number (not the Serial Number) of the V2 devices needs to be the same. This is intended to cater fr tuners/workshops that may have more than one physical V2 device.
    Andrew
    EFILive Crew


  4. #14
    Lifetime Member killerbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,044

    Default

    Thank you.
    Michael, Systems Engineer 04.5 D-max LLY, Phoenix, Arizona Email
    Custom Tuning Services
    DURAMAX/CUMMINS ECM's TCM's for sale, all years, 20% wholesale discount available
    EFILive's first VGT "Software Wastegate Tune"

  5. #15
    Lifetime Member Tre-Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    827

    Default

    would it be possible to get a serial AD port added to the autocal for logging of wideband sensors?

    It would make more sense to invest in them then as I'm sure tuners would appreciate actually having accurate afr readings to adjust the tunes. Otherwise really the device is limited to just flashing base tunes.

  6. #16
    Lifetime Member Chuck CoW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    460

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tre-Cool View Post
    would it be possible to get a serial AD port added to the autocal for logging of wideband sensors?

    It would make more sense to invest in them then as I'm sure tuners would appreciate actually having accurate afr readings to adjust the tunes. Otherwise really the device is limited to just flashing base tunes.


    Yeah.... It would make a whole lot more sense that way....

    Chuck CoW
    CoW BOOSTER! Electronic Throttle Enhancement.

    - CLICK HERE NOW FOR MORE INFORMATION! -

    VARARAM, EDELBROCK, AMERICAN RACING HEADERS, BAER BRAKES, BORLA, EFI Live, Magnuson,
    COMP Cams, PROCHARGER, PRO TORQUE, PHADT Racing, INNOVATORS WEST, and more.



  7. #17
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    631

    Default

    If a serial port was added to AutoCal that would be cool but I don't see it as necessary. I'm sure a good portion
    of AutoCals are going to Diesel tuners and mail order tuners (neither really need WBO2) I don't think they are
    going to change them since they are already in production. My solution is simply modify the Scan Tool software
    to bring the serial data in through the PC. That way if someone really wanted to use a WBO2 just hook it up to
    your lap top whilst logging.

  8. #18
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,798

    Default

    I think ACs not having a serial input helps segment the market more, if your customer really needs a mail order tune via WBO2 then they probably need a FS V2.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, starting the mods
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  9. #19
    Lifetime Member mr.prick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,195

    Default

    IIRC
    There was something said about a possible hack for serial WBO2.
    512k RoadRunner Firmware 12.14R
    FlashScan V2 Bootblock V2.07.04 Firmware V2.07.22 EFILive V7.5.7 (Build 191) V8.2.1 (Build 181)
    LC-1 WBO2

    _________________________________________________

  10. #20
    EFILive Reseller kbracing96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ScarabEpic22 View Post
    I think ACs not having a serial input helps segment the market more, if your customer really needs a mail order tune via WBO2 then they probably need a FS V2.
    I agree with this very much!
    01 ECSB 1/2 ton 4x4 Forged 5.7 LS1 GMC

    Custom KBracing front mounted, BW S480, intercooled turbo


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Autocal?
    By macca_779 in forum Lounge
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: August 18th, 2010, 08:50 AM
  2. Autocal
    By Frost in forum Lounge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 10th, 2010, 12:27 PM
  3. Autocal
    By Alvin in forum Lounge
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 1st, 2007, 12:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •