Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: speed sensor

Default speed sensor

hello everyone im new to the tuning world and im getting my but kicked and any help would be much appreciated my first and main issue is i have an 84 chevy 4x4 with a pulse generator and cant figure out how to get the speed signal accurate

Lifetime Member

Hello jhanner,

A little more information would be helpful in trying to assist you. What engine & transmission are you using ? If possible, post your current tune.

“Pulse generator” – from Dakota Digital, JTR, or who ? Set to 4K, 8K, or how many pulses ? Mounted on the transmission, transfer case, drive shaft, or where ?

Is the pulse generator wired directly to the PCMs VSS input ? Or the instrument cluster / speedometer ?

Regards,
    Taz

Sorry about the lack of info i installed a 5.3 with a 4l60e and a 208 transfer case the sensor is from abbott enterprise and its connected to the speedometer gear on the output of the transfer case through the speedometer cable and i believe its an 8k pulse. im getting a reading but its showing way too low and its not shifting properly. ill try to post the tune as soon as i can figure out how. thanks for any help

Lifetime Member

This is from one of Joecar’s posts …

How to attach files:

Go Advanced -> Manage Attachments -> Add Files -> Select Files select the file(s) you want to upload, Open Upload Files -> Done

Regards,
    Taz

Did this transfer case come with the 1984 truck or the 5.3 combination?
    Al
    "Trash that carb and get Injected!"

it came with the truck and it uses a gear to run the cable

this is the best ive gotten it the speed reading is close to actual speed and it shifts now but you have to back off the throttle for it to shift and any increase in in throttle will make it down shift im also having issues with it idling it stall out all the time
    thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

Lifetime Member