Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Starts, reduced power, and then dies...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    31

    Default Starts, reduced power, and then dies...

    hey guys. working on a supercharged C5 z06. I have followed the custom OS pdf file and rescaled for the larger injectors(60lb) and 2bar map sensor. Im not sure why but I cannot get the car to stay running, it will start with some help with the throttle pedal and i can rev it up a bit but it always goes into reduced power and dies. I have increased the ETC table by a bunch and have tried to adjust the VE table both ways. The car ran fine with the 1bar sensor and just rescaling the injectors, it was drivable. ever since going 2bar and the COS i cannot get it to run.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Here is the tune file


    custom_take_2_0007.tun

  3. #3
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,052

    Default

    Hi snax,

    Can you also post some log files showing DYNCYLAIR and DYNAIR.

    What other DTC's do you get...?

    You may have to edit the MAP sanity table.

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,052

    Default Other comments (not related)

    Also, these are out-of-range: A0001, A0002, A0012, A0013.

    Fixing Out Of Range Cells:
    showpost.php?p=87052 post #14
    showthread.php?14119-3000-RPM-max-and-setting-codes-03-Z06-with-Magnuson-at-150kPa posts #14, #17
    showthread.php?14654-I-need-help-getting-the-most-out-of-my-car post#2


    Also, the 105kPa columns of both VE tables should be identical.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    31

    Default

    well...turns out I had more issues than I thought. After I posted that tune file I opened it up ad saw that those tables were out of range, I corrected all of that and it still had the same issue. I logged the startup and noticed that the MAP values were going UP when the car was started, all the way upto 160KPA before it dies. Turns out we were given the wrong map sensor, it must be a 1bar. I changed the MAP scaler back to 90 and the car ran fine. So I guess I just need the correct 2 bar sensor, it is on order.

    BUT while I was reflashing it working on some driveability tuning the ECM crashed. I have not been able to recover it since. I have tried BB flashing, recovering ECU, full reflash, and cal reflash...all in the car and with a bench harness also. It is giving me a boot loader rejected error. when i try to bb flash it gives me error $0322. all 7.5 and 8.0 software / firmware is upto date and has been verified. I can still flash other cars so this isnt a major hardware issue. When i select recover ECU from the full reflash page it gives me the error of "ecu in an unknown state"

    Any other way to recover this ECU?

  6. #6
    EFILive Crew Site Admin Tordne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    The $0322 error description is "A request was made by FlashScan or AutoCal and the controller was not able or ready to handle the request.". If you're not able to flash it on a bench harness there is a pretty good chance the PCM has failed. It sounds like you have tried all of available means to resolve. Probably time for a new PCM :(
    Andrew
    EFILive Crew


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tordne View Post
    The $0322 error description is "A request was made by FlashScan or AutoCal and the controller was not able or ready to handle the request.". If you're not able to flash it on a bench harness there is a pretty good chance the PCM has failed. It sounds like you have tried all of available means to resolve. Probably time for a new PCM :(
    Can a Tech2 possibly be used to reflash this ecu?

  8. #8
    EFILive Crew Site Admin Tordne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    I don't believe it would work. Basically I don't believe the bootloader is valid in the PCM which is why FlashScan can;t determine the state of it. A TechII is not likely to be able to communicate with it either (it would need to do the same thing as FlashScan basically). You could always give it a try if you wanted, but don;t be disappointed it if fails also.
    Andrew
    EFILive Crew


  9. #9
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,293

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by snax View Post
    when i try to bb flash it gives me error $0322.
    That indicates the ECM is still able to communicate with FlashScan, so that is a good sign that it is not 100% brain dead.
    How far into the reflash did it fail?
    Were you doing a full relfash or a cal-only refalsh?

    Can you send the *.blx files of the failed reflash attempts to me at paul@efilive.com
    See this article for more info...
    http://support.efilive.com/kb_articl...8254-QOGC-9586 (under the heading "Further Support").

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

Similar Threads

  1. LS1 PCM (2002 Corvette) problem - starts and dies in 2 secs
    By hIGGI in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: October 4th, 2010, 07:59 PM
  2. Engines reduced power?
    By lb7diesel in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 28th, 2008, 05:03 AM
  3. Car reduced power mode/dies after idling with A/C on for a bit
    By Earl H in forum Custom Operating Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2007, 07:13 AM
  4. Loaded Custom OS: 03Z06..starts/dies after 1 sec
    By Earl H in forum Custom Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: May 7th, 2007, 08:55 AM
  5. starts for 1 sec and then dies
    By Cablebandit in forum Custom Operating Systems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 8th, 2007, 12:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •