Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: using efilive v5 to tune

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default using efilive v5 to tune

    i was digging through my closet and came across my old autotap software, on it is the workshop version of efilive v5..and i have a couple questions.the particular cars i will be working on are 98-02 camaro/firebird..and 97+ corvettes...

    first off, is it safe to tune using this software??...thw reason i ask is, since it is outdated software, there may have possibly been bugs that were corrected in later releases..i will mostly just use it to scan and check DTCs, as well as minor tuning changes for injectors, speedo, rev limit, and fuel adjustment...

    second, is there a way to update the software online, to the newer version?

    third, the autotap data cable has a serial connector on it...my laptop does not have a matching serial port...i only have a usb connection...is there any way to make the cabke work on my PC...

    thank you.

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,709

    Default

    TuningNoob,

    Welcome to the forum...

    Two things:
    1. The AutoTap interface doesn't allow flashing the PCM;
    2. V5 software has no tunetool... it is scantool only.

    You can run the latest V7 software on the AutoTap AT1 interface, but you will need a V7 registration key (which is free)... if you want to do this, let me know.

    There are serial-USB adapters... I don't use one, but many people use these (newer laptops don't have serial ports anymore...).

    Cheers
    Joe

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    thanks for the welcome, as well as the clarification...
    so what is the differenc ebetween the auto tap scan tool and the efilive scan tool?

    do you mind elaborating on the v7? would i be able to make tuning changes with it?
    how would i know which autotap interface i have?

    i hope the equipment i have is not obsolete...

    thank you for the advice on the serial to usb adapter....i will get one as soon as possible.

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,709

    Default

    To make tuning changes, you need:
    - the V7 software (free),
    - the V1 or V2 FlashScan hardware/cable.

    More info: http://www.efilive.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Is this a Bug with EFILive Scan & Tune?
    By Biodiesel66 in forum FlashScan V2 BB Logging
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: January 29th, 2010, 06:25 AM
  2. Help, can't load tune with efilive
    By rush in forum Duramax LB7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 6th, 2008, 03:57 PM
  3. EFILive Tune Repository
    By TAQuickness in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 22nd, 2008, 11:08 PM
  4. EFILive Tune Reader
    By BradS in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 13th, 2006, 08:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •