Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: E67 BEN Calculation Error

  1. #1
    Member Big D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    98

    Default E67 BEN Calculation Error

    I am having trouble with logging BEN's on a 2010 E67. I've tried all the options requested as far as select this because its invalid and such. Need another set of eyes to take a look at see if I am missing something.

    I posted a log that shows anytime I increase TPS the ben factor is way out of line. Any ideas?

    MOD4.efi

    7.5.6 build 138 with the latest firmware
    Last edited by Big D; November 29th, 2010 at 04:40 PM. Reason: verison update
    Making tires smoke since 1994
    Grand Junction CO

  2. #2
    Member Big D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    98

    Default

    I needed some help with this guys. I am currently running analog with my LC1. I am going to find my cable tonight to use it as a serial connection. My laptop doesnt have a serial port so I bought a serial to usb converter from best buy. I played around with the truck again tonight and still no luck with the BEN factor.
    Base Efficiency Numerator 1 - LC-1 E67 style {CALC.BEN_LC11_E67}
    Here is the error I recieve with the BEN factor for the E67

    Expression:
    factor = {CALC.AFR_LC11.AFR}/{E67.AFRATIO_DMA}
    is VALID

    Warning:
    {E67.AFRATIO_DMA} is not currently valid

    PID value cannot be determined because
    the following error would occur:
    Divide by zero.

    Am I correct by saying E67.AFRATIO_DMA is not valid because the E67 doesnt use this ratio calculation and if it doesnt how do I modified the PID to compensate for the correct PID.

    What process to log a ratio or factor to dial in the VVE or run as CLMAF tune.
    Making tires smoke since 1994
    Grand Junction CO

  3. #3
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,782

    Default

    Hi Big D,

    Do you have a serial comms cable to connect your LC-1 to your V2 (null-modem wired serial cable)...?
    I would strongly recommend this for LC-1 AFR/Lambda.
    If you have this cable, you can /ignore the pid AFR_LC11, and use EXT.WO2AFR1 instead, which is what CALC.BEN1_E67 does.

    For CALC.BEN1_E67 you need both EXT.WO2AFR1 and E67.AFRATIO_DMA selected, which you have.

    To make E67.AFRATIO_DMA work, you have to do both of these:
    - go File->Enter VIN and enter your vehicle's VIN and the OS id;
    - go File->Select Controller and select Gen IV V8/V6 E67.

    If E67.AFRATIO_DMA is still not valid, then as an experiment log GM.EQIVRATIO to see if it produces valid information.

    Either way, let me know.

  4. #4
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,782

    Default

    For E38/E67 VVE, see this: showthread.php?8961-E38-VVE-Setup-Guide

  5. #5
    Member Big D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    Hi Big D,

    Do you have a serial comms cable to connect your LC-1 to your V2 (null-modem wired serial cable)...?
    I would strongly recommend this for LC-1 AFR/Lambda.
    If you have this cable, you can /ignore the pid AFR_LC11, and use EXT.WO2AFR1 instead, which is what CALC.BEN1_E67 does.

    For CALC.BEN1_E67 you need both EXT.WO2AFR1 and E67.AFRATIO_DMA selected, which you have.

    To make E67.AFRATIO_DMA work, you have to do both of these:
    - go File->Enter VIN and enter your vehicle's VIN and the OS id;
    - go File->Select Controller and select Gen IV V8/V6 E67.

    If E67.AFRATIO_DMA is still not valid, then as an experiment log GM.EQIVRATIO to see if it produces valid information.

    Either way, let me know.

    Thanks for the info.
    I just found my serial cable and will check the adapter tomorrow to make sure its setup as null-modem.
    Thanks for the info your process, I will give it a try tomorrow and see how it turns out.
    Last edited by Big D; November 30th, 2010 at 06:07 PM.
    Making tires smoke since 1994
    Grand Junction CO

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,798

    Default

    Big D, you need to select the E67 commanded AFR PID to get the BEN PID to be valid. As you posted earlier, the BEN PID is not valid because E67.AFRATIO_DMA needs to be selected. I cant tell from your first post if you have already tried this or not. I vaguely remember someone asking about '10 E67 PIDs not being all valid after they validated the controller.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, starting the mods
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  7. #7
    Member Big D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Update:

    I was able to log eqivratio and it works. So I will setup my ben map to utilize this pid and adjust accordingly. Thanks Joe for the insight, massive help you have been. I will let you all know how it turns out after Saturday.
    Making tires smoke since 1994
    Grand Junction CO

  8. #8
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,782

    Default

    Ok, thanks, post logs file(s) and your calc_pids.txt file so we can sanity check it.

  9. #9
    Member Big D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    98

    Default Incorret Posting

    Well the EQIVRATIO was pid worked when not plugged into ECM.

    When plugged into vehicle EQIVRATIO didnt work. After spending much time, many pids didnt activate even when validating. I am lost with attempting to get the pids to validate. I am open to all ideas to figure this out to be able to complete the VVE SD or a MAF tuning process.

    I posted up the stock tune a data log from a drive with some MAF mods and my calc_pids file.

    5.3 STOCK ECM.tun8.eficalc_pids.txt
    Making tires smoke since 1994
    Grand Junction CO

  10. #10
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Make sure the VIN for the PCM as reported by EFILive in the Scan Tool is correct for your vehicle.
    If it is wrong, use the menu option bidirectional->Change VIN to correct it.

    When the VIN is incorrect, the EFILive software does not recognize the PCM as a GM PCM and will not load the GM specific PIDs.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. E67 GMPP controller checksum error
    By xtreme in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 10th, 2009, 02:50 PM
  2. Got the aem w02 pid working but ben has error message
    By MattysTA in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 28th, 2009, 12:12 PM
  3. BEN is only for analog, right? How do I log BEN with serial logging?
    By Supercharged111 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: July 12th, 2009, 05:08 PM
  4. Need help with WB calculation.
    By Redline Motorsports in forum General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 13th, 2006, 10:50 AM
  5. VE calculation and tuning
    By 01blkss in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: March 6th, 2006, 09:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •