Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: E67 BEN Calculation Error

  1. #11
    Member Big D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky View Post
    Make sure the VIN for the PCM as reported by EFILive in the Scan Tool is correct for your vehicle.
    If it is wrong, use the menu option bidirectional->Change VIN to correct it.

    When the VIN is incorrect, the EFILive software does not recognize the PCM as a GM PCM and will not load the GM specific PIDs.

    Regards
    Paul
    I entered VIN, then selected controller and connected to controller. Do I select controller and connect before entering VIN ?
    Making tires smoke since 1994
    Grand Junction CO

  2. #12
    EFILive Developer Site Admin Blacky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Entering the VIN when starting the EFILive software only selects the VIN until you connect to a vehicle.
    Once you connect to a vehicle, the vehicle's controller's VIN is used instead. If the controller's VIN is not correct then the GM enhanced PIDs will not be loaded.
    You really need to make sure the VIN in the controller is correct.

    Regards
    Paul
    Before asking for help, please read this.

  3. #13
    Member Big D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blacky View Post
    Entering the VIN when starting the EFILive software only selects the VIN until you connect to a vehicle.
    Once you connect to a vehicle, the vehicle's controller's VIN is used instead. If the controller's VIN is not correct then the GM enhanced PIDs will not be loaded.
    You really need to make sure the VIN in the controller is correct.

    Regards
    Paul
    I will confirm this and report back in a couple hours, thanks for the insight.
    What if the VIN is correct, what approach do I take to validate PID's.
    Making tires smoke since 1994
    Grand Junction CO

  4. #14
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,798

    Default

    In Scan tool, click Edit -> Validate PIDs (I believe thats the correct spot, its definitely under the Edit menu). I had the same issue with my TBSS earlier this year, thought EFILive wasnt working or I was going crazy. Turns out when I full flashed my 08 TBSS tune over a set of 07 TBSS computers the VIN didnt get properly written so I couldnt scan any enhanced PIDs. Changed it via Scan tool, all good.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, starting the mods
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  5. #15
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,779

    Default

    Big D,

    In the scantool use BiDirectional->Change VIN to write the correct VIN to your ECM.

  6. #16
    Member Big D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    98

    Thumbs down

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    Big D,

    In the scantool use BiDirectional->Change VIN to write the correct VIN to your ECM.
    Changed the VIN and sent to ECM using the BiDirection control.
    The VIN was the same.
    I still had the same results validating the PID's, no go.
    Also checked PCM Info and everything matched as far as the VIN. Is it possible that I will have to change the vin to some number then change it back to the correct VIN? doesnt make sense to do this.

    Would it do any good to post up the console text after connecting to the vehicle for the code experts on the forum.


    Taking into consirderation of what Scarab stated about the full flash, I might try to complete a full flash of the stock file to see if the PID's will validate

    I can sit here without being plugged into the vehicle and have GM.EQIVRATIO work. But when connected it will not validate. Even tried using Scan and Tune and still no PID's.

    Open to options. I am going on vacation for a week. Maybe when I come back, it will fix itself!! HA I wish.




    Did some digging around noticed a new build of 139 is out. Maybe this is an issue. I was running build 138.
    Last edited by Big D; December 6th, 2010 at 06:31 PM.
    Making tires smoke since 1994
    Grand Junction CO

  7. #17
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27,779

    Default

    Please do post the console text, this may give Paul some clues.

    Yes, try the full flash.

  8. #18
    Member Big D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Will do Joe. Its going to be at least a week and half before I can get back at it.
    Making tires smoke since 1994
    Grand Junction CO

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. E67 GMPP controller checksum error
    By xtreme in forum E37, E38 & E67 PFI ECM's
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 10th, 2009, 02:50 PM
  2. Got the aem w02 pid working but ben has error message
    By MattysTA in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 28th, 2009, 12:12 PM
  3. BEN is only for analog, right? How do I log BEN with serial logging?
    By Supercharged111 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: July 12th, 2009, 05:08 PM
  4. Need help with WB calculation.
    By Redline Motorsports in forum General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 13th, 2006, 10:50 AM
  5. VE calculation and tuning
    By 01blkss in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: March 6th, 2006, 09:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •