Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: Designing a New Custom PE Mode PID..I need help..

  1. #1
    R.I.P Shawn, 1956-2011 WeathermanShawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,807

    Default Designing a New Custom PE Mode PID..I need help..

    I need some help. I am trying to make a Calculated Pid that defines PE Mode.

    Heres my PID so far..

    *CLC-00-004
    factor 0.5 1.0 .2 "{GM.EQIVRATIO} > 1.00 & {SAE.RPM} > 2000"


    So far what it gives me is a (1) if it is 'true' and a (0) if false. Does anybody know how I can define an expression that might say 'PE Mode' and Non-PE Mode? I have been trying to utilize the EFILive 'iff' syntax, but I am stuck.

    If I can pull it off I want to make 'PE Mode' a condition for yet another PID..

    Anybody know? Thanks in advance..
    2002 Black Camaro Z-28 M6 Hardtop 11.0:1CR 425HP/410TQ SAE (400TQ@3500RPM)
    200cc Heads, 228/232 110+2 Cam, 1 3/4" LT's w/catts, GMMG, Koni Shocks, Hotchkis Springs, 35/21 Sways, 17" ZR1's, 3.90 Gears Roadrunner PCM LM-2 Serial Wideband
    EFILive Closed-Loop MAF/SD Hybrid Tune..


  2. #2
    Lifetime Member ChipsByAl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    617

    Default

    Shawn, PE mode can be configured in many different ways. I have seen it engaged at idle and with non-typical EQ values. Possibly the PCM/ECM in use can report PE mode active/inactive already in a PID. Would that be helpful?
    Al
    "Trash that carb and get Injected!"

  3. #3
    R.I.P Shawn, 1956-2011 WeathermanShawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,807

    Default

    Sure would Al.

    I agree PE Mode is a little convoluted. Thats why I was just trying to get the 'real' PE mode. Same problem with the SAE.FUELSYS PID..Open-Loop is shared, so its tricky.

    I am open to any ideas though. Its a little over my head at this point..
    2002 Black Camaro Z-28 M6 Hardtop 11.0:1CR 425HP/410TQ SAE (400TQ@3500RPM)
    200cc Heads, 228/232 110+2 Cam, 1 3/4" LT's w/catts, GMMG, Koni Shocks, Hotchkis Springs, 35/21 Sways, 17" ZR1's, 3.90 Gears Roadrunner PCM LM-2 Serial Wideband
    EFILive Closed-Loop MAF/SD Hybrid Tune..


  4. #4
    Lifetime Member 5.7ute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,840

    Default

    "iff({commanded EQ}=1,calc pid if true,calc pid is false)" It would end up a long pid by putting your expressions for true & false in the 1 pid but should hopefully keep it a bit more accurate.(And would simplify things for a newbie)
    I dont have Efilive on my pc at work anymore to verify this, but I used the iff() function in some of my earlier pids & it worked out ok.
    FWIW I like the way you are going with this idea. It will save a lot of filtering for getting the tables close. However manual filtering will still be necessary to remove some throttle transients IMO. (once you get OCD about your tune)
    The Tremor at AIR

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member swingtan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,589

    Default

    I did one a while back for the brake pedal switch in the E38. It looks like this...

    CALC.BRKPEDAL [Calculated] "Brk Switch" "Brake Switch Condition"

    *CLC-00-2045
    None 0 1 0 "iff((raw({GM.BRKR})&8)=8,1,0)"

    CALC.BRKPEDAL F400 CLC-00-2045 None Brakes Brake pedal active

    This displays in a chart with the label "BRKPedal" and is "0" when off and "1" when on. In a Dash, I simply set an alarm so the gauge goes "red" when the brake is applied.

    The actual "iff" statement is a bit tricky as it uses the actual PID raw data to give the final result, for the brake pedal stuff it was for the "bit mapped data" so needed to select the correct "bit" to decide if the bake was actually on/off.

    I believe that what you want to do is create a new "units" setting in Scan tool. This would be used like gm/Sec, kPa, Seconds etc but would be called (for example) "state" . The values for this might be "off, on". I'm not sure if you can "create" new "units", but maybe you can use the external 12 switch "units" which is "Active". So when PE mode is enabled, it would show as "Active"?

    Simon

    PS. Demo of the brake PID working on a virtual dash is here....

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UEU9Hb8hE1E
    Last edited by swingtan; January 24th, 2011 at 03:26 PM. Reason: added video of virtual dash

  6. #6
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default

    Also look at GM.TSTATE03 which contains a bit named "Fuel Power Enrichment Mode Active"

    [ I don't know why it's defined in an auto trans pid ]

    I'm not sure if this bit is applicable in all instances.

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WeathermanShawn View Post
    I need some help. I am trying to make a Calculated Pid that defines PE Mode.

    Heres my PID so far..

    *CLC-00-004
    factor 0.5 1.0 .2 "{GM.EQIVRATIO} > 1.00 & {SAE.RPM} > 2000"


    So far what it gives me is a (1) if it is 'true' and a (0) if false. Does anybody know how I can define an expression that might say 'PE Mode' and Non-PE Mode? I have been trying to utilize the EFILive 'iff' syntax, but I am stuck.

    If I can pull it off I want to make 'PE Mode' a condition for yet another PID..

    Anybody know? Thanks in advance..
    Something like this:
    "iff({CALC.PEMODE}, x, y)"
    where iff returns x when PEMODE is 1 and y otherwise.

    I'm not sure if you have to do this:
    "iff(raw({CALC.PEMODE}), x, y)"

  8. #8
    Lifetime Member swingtan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,589

    Default

    More on the 12v switch PID.

    the lines in the saegeneric.txt file looks like this...

    Active None Active "Voltage active or not"

    *UNM-16-912
    Active 0.0 1.0 .0 * 1.0 0.0

    EXT.SW1 F405 UNM-16-912 "Active" External "External 12V Switch 1"

    Looking at the data indicates that this will still only display as "0" or "1" though. To be honest, that's what you really want if you are going to use it in conjunction with another custom PID though.

    Simon

  9. #9
    R.I.P Shawn, 1956-2011 WeathermanShawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,807

    Default

    Simon and others:

    In all honesty it is a little over my head..But your last comment makes sense. I can display it as a 0.0 or 1.0.

    What am I trying to do is say if PE Mode =0, then use CLC-00-003..
    If PE Mode =1.0 then use CLC-00-004..

    *CLC-00-003
    % 0.0 100.0 .2 "iff( {CALC.PEMODE},0)"{SAE.MAF.gps}*({GM.DYNAIRTMP_DMA. C}+273.15)*3445.2/(5.669*{SAE.RPM}*{SAE.MAP.kPa})*{CALC.LTFTBEN}"
    VE 0.0 3.0 .4 "iff( {CALC.PEMODE},0)"{SAE.MAF.gps}*({GM.DYNAIRTMP_DMA. C}+273.15)*15/({SAE.RPM}*{SAE.MAP.kPa})*{CALC.LTFTBEN}"

    *CLC-00-004
    % 0.0 100.0 .2 "iff( CALC.PEMODE},1)"{SAE.MAF.gps}*({GM.DYNAIRTMP_DMA.C }+273.15)*3445.2/(5.669*{SAE.RPM}*{SAE.MAP.kPa})*{CALC.BEN1}"
    VE 0.0 3.0 .4 "iff( CALC.PEMODE},1)"{SAE.MAF.gps}*({GM.DYNAIRTMP_DMA.C }+273.15)*15/({SAE.RPM}*{SAE.MAP.kPa})*{CALC.BEN1}"


    I'm 'choking on the 'iff' expression. When an user is in PE Mode I want them to use the WO2BEN Pid, when they are not in PE Mode then calculate the PID using LTFTBEN.

    By the way, nice vid on that brake!!!
    2002 Black Camaro Z-28 M6 Hardtop 11.0:1CR 425HP/410TQ SAE (400TQ@3500RPM)
    200cc Heads, 228/232 110+2 Cam, 1 3/4" LT's w/catts, GMMG, Koni Shocks, Hotchkis Springs, 35/21 Sways, 17" ZR1's, 3.90 Gears Roadrunner PCM LM-2 Serial Wideband
    EFILive Closed-Loop MAF/SD Hybrid Tune..


  10. #10
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,403

    Default

    Would this work...?


    *CLC-00-002
    factor ... "{GM.EQIVRATIO} > 1.00 & {SAE.RPM} > 2000"

    *CLC-00-003
    % ... "..."
    VE ... "..."

    *CLC-00-004

    % ... "..."
    VE ... "..."

    *CLC-00-005

    % ... "iff({CALC.PEMODE}, CALC.VE3.%, CALC.VE4.%)"
    VE ...
    "iff({CALC.PEMODE}, CALC.VE3.VE, CALC.VE4.VE)"

    . . .

    CALC.PEMODE F002 CLC-00-002 factor ...
    CALC.VE3 F003 CLC-00-003 "%,VE" ...

    CALC.VE4 F004 CLC-00-004
    "%,VE" ...
    CALC.VET F005 CLC-00-005
    "%,VE" ...


    where the dots ... represent the parts I left out (range/precision, system).



Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. PID Availablity problems in passthrough logging mode.
    By XLR8NSS in forum FlashScan V2 BB Logging
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 29th, 2007, 12:45 PM
  2. How do you make a custom PID???
    By WiseGuyZ06 in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 10th, 2007, 10:20 AM
  3. Custom PID: What functions can you use?
    By 2002_z28_six_speed in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 3rd, 2007, 05:05 PM
  4. Why LM-1 Custom PID???????
    By 2002_z28_six_speed in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 3rd, 2007, 11:52 PM
  5. Anyone made a custom mpg (or km/L) PID?
    By thunder550 in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 17th, 2006, 03:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •