Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ECM swap and truck won't start

  1. #1
    Lifetime Member dansdieselp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    605

    Default ECM swap and truck won't start

    Flashed a good ECM with a dsp5 tune. The oem tune was pulled from customers truck when I saw him last. Shipped him the ECM and switch. He installed the switch and ECM. Truck will crank, but won't start. The truck I used to flash it with started fine. What could the problem be?
    Dan's Diesel Performance
    www.dansdieselperformance.com

  2. #2
    EFILive Crew Site Admin Tordne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    VATS Relearn?
    Andrew
    EFILive Crew


  3. #3
    Lifetime Member dansdieselp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    605

    Default

    That's kind of what I was thinking, but I would of thought using the oem tune would have avoided that problem. Other thing is the customer is not close to me so doing the VATS relearn would be difficult.
    Dan's Diesel Performance
    www.dansdieselperformance.com

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member GMPX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    13,166

    Default

    Dan, the VATS codes for the truck is not stored in the area of the ECM that is reprogrammed, it will still have the VATS codes in it from the truck the ECM came off. A VATS learn (or VATS off) is the only solution.
    I am told your customer can do this without a scantool, just key on for 15 mins, key off for 30 seconds, repeat 3 times and it should start.
    I no longer monitor the forum, please either post your question or create a support ticket.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member dansdieselp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    605

    Default

    Thanks Ross. I'll have him try the relearn. If not he's gonna send it back and I'll turn the vats off.
    Dan's Diesel Performance
    www.dansdieselperformance.com

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member dansdieselp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    605

    Default

    Ross the key relearn worked great. Customer is up and running. Thanks.
    Dan's Diesel Performance
    www.dansdieselperformance.com

Similar Threads

  1. LMM - another No remote start after ECM swap
    By Cougar281 in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: February 8th, 2010, 10:51 AM
  2. sterio swap and truck wont start
    By pullincrazy88 in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 2nd, 2009, 01:42 AM
  3. MY TRUCK WON'T Start, HELP
    By ptownbacker5 in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: October 6th, 2008, 08:43 PM
  4. TRUCK WON'T START AFTER DSP5 instal
    By vortecfcar in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 8th, 2007, 04:43 AM
  5. HELP! PLEASE HELP!! Truck won't start!
    By Wasted Income in forum Duramax LLY
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: January 6th, 2006, 03:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •