Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tutorials

Default Tutorials

First, I'll introduce myself to those who may not be familiar with me in the past. I'm Steve Bryant, one of the Beta Testers and I've been extremely interested in developing some informational/educational material for people wanting to learn about tuning. As I see it, there is an abundance of information on the web regarding tuning the LS1 series engines. However, quantity doesn't always make for quality. Some of the information is accurate, but a lot of it is inaccurate, misleading, confusing, etc.

I am a electronics engineer with an aircraft manufacturer who used to be a diesel truck mechanic. In the interim, I've also worked in technical training as in instructor in avionics (aviation electronics) for pilots and technicians. Also, I'm a former flight instructor - single/multi-engine and instruments. One of my duties was to develop training curricula and materials. I've volunteered to work on this sort of thing for the good folks at EFILive.

Right now, I have two initial goals. One on to develop a primmer on tuning that will be down to earth and understandable by the majority of users. I'm already working on that and I hope to have a draft ready for proofreading and critique in the next few weeks. Additionally, I want to flesh out the diagram I drew a few months ago http://www.efilive.com/doc/Tutorials...20Tutorial.pdf of a wide band oxygen sensor/controller WBO2 installation into a three to five page pamphlet that explains several approaches of installing a WBO2 both permanently and temporarily since there's more than one way to skin cat. I want to explain about using a WBO2 to tailor the VE Table(s) to get fidelity between the table and the current state of modification of your engine, setting up power enrichment, etc.