Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32

Thread: Auto Cal LLY Full Flash

  1. #11
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,798

    Default

    Im pretty sure it will be, heck even the LS1 PCMs dont have BBFF yet!
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, starting the mods
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  2. #12
    Lifetime Member zfuller123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,026

    Default

    So at this point, the only way to get a Full Flash is to use the 7.5 Software with a Flash Scan in order to put in a DSP5 tune? And that will take a license just like the AutoCal takes a license?....

    I am hoping there is some way around this for my customer... luckily this customer is local, but any out of towners would be a problem....

    Thanks for any info that Andrew or the EFILive crew can provide on this...

    Zach
    2005 Crew Cab Dually Duramax

    Big turbos, big injectors, big pumps, crazy heads AND a flux capacitor...
    Best run so far on street tires: 11.14 @ 128.8 mph


  3. #13
    EFILive Crew Site Admin Tordne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    Right now a DSP and many other operations that require a full-flash can only be performed by using a FlashScan V2 interface in pass-thru mode with the V7.5 software.

    The following are the current reasons/limitations:

    1) The AutoCal device cannot be used with the V7.5 software in pass-thru mode, so full-flashing capability for AutoCal right now is not available. I don’t have a time frame for full flash support with AutoCal, or FlashScan V2 standalone for that matter.

    2) For some of the controllers (LB7, LLY, LS1 etc.) is it quite a complex operation to coordinate a full-flash routine. The script complexity at the moment is limited by the resource on the AutoCal/V2 hardware. I'm not sure if you're aware but the V8 software and the AutoCal/FlashScan devices execute the exact same scripts.


    We will have to provide full-flash capability, but it may be something that has to be done using the V8 software (AutoCal/V2 in pass-thru mode) and a script superset that only V8 can handle.

    This will be on the high-priority development list, but will not be looked at until the Cummins release is out.

    Cheers,
    Andrew
    EFILive Crew


  4. #14
    Lifetime Member zfuller123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,026

    Default

    So....

    Let me ask what is probably a stupid question at this point. Is there any way to use the V2 to provide the full flash WITH the Autocal license? So we don't have to consume 2 VIN licenses on one truck? This is a bit of an issue that I need to learn, and if that is the case I need to avoid selling the AutoCal as i'll be chewing up any money i make from tuning on the licenses.

    I realize that a user can switch tunes by flashing in one of 5 seperate tunes inteh AutoCal - but i've sold the switch and everything so need to make it right for this guy. I'm just wanting to understand properly so i can approach anyone else wanting this in the right manner. Obviously if i dont have physical access to the truck all bets are off on the AutoCal... but aside from that, need to charge for the license...

    Thanks for the info.

    -->Zach
    2005 Crew Cab Dually Duramax

    Big turbos, big injectors, big pumps, crazy heads AND a flux capacitor...
    Best run so far on street tires: 11.14 @ 128.8 mph


  5. #15
    EFILive Crew Site Admin Tordne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    There is no way to move/copy licenses from one device to another. So it is not possible to transfer/use the AutoCal VIN license on your V2 and then move the used license to the AutoCal. The solution really is for us to implement the full-flashing capability into the script engine for these controllers.
    Andrew
    EFILive Crew


  6. #16
    Lifetime Member zfuller123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,026

    Default

    Thank you for the info Andrew. I didn't understand this part before I sold this one, but i'll be in good shape to not make the mistake again :-) For now i have to get the truck tuned as i promised. At least it'll be nice to know that i can keep sending him DSP5 tunes after I convert his ECM OS with my V2. Live and learn! (for the time being lol)
    2005 Crew Cab Dually Duramax

    Big turbos, big injectors, big pumps, crazy heads AND a flux capacitor...
    Best run so far on street tires: 11.14 @ 128.8 mph


  7. #17
    Lifetime Member Mitco39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    641

    Default

    Hey,

    Just a suggestion, but it would be helpful to provide a table much like the one you have for the V1 and V2 programmers to know what ECMs it can and cannot full flash. Also since this thread is a little old is there an ETA on full flashing the LLY's?

  8. #18
    Lifetime Member bobo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    956

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitco39 View Post
    Hey,

    Just a suggestion, but it would be helpful to provide a table much like the one you have for the V1 and V2 programmers to know what ECMs it can and cannot full flash. Also since this thread is a little old is there an ETA on full flashing the LLY's?
    Great idea!
    2005 Twin Turbo Dmax/Allison Ext. Cab Short Box 4X4
    Best 1/4 11.8 @ 118+ on #2 only

    Twisted Diesel Tuning-The leader in Duramax Tuning Services and soon to offer Common Rail Cummins Tuning!

    Bobotune at rocketmail dot com

  9. #19
    Lifetime Member zfuller123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,026

    Default

    I second (or third) that!!!

    Probably on the radar somewhere..... just saying :-)
    2005 Crew Cab Dually Duramax

    Big turbos, big injectors, big pumps, crazy heads AND a flux capacitor...
    Best run so far on street tires: 11.14 @ 128.8 mph


  10. #20
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitco39 View Post
    Hey,

    Just a suggestion, but it would be helpful to provide a table much like the one you have for the V1 and V2 programmers to know what ECMs it can and cannot full flash. Also since this thread is a little old is there an ETA on full flashing the LLY's?
    You shouldn't be releasing products out until they work the right way, when will the autocal full flash the lly.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Where's the Auto Cal
    By L31Sleeper in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: July 23rd, 2010, 04:30 PM
  2. Little help on full and cal flash on DSP tune.
    By Brian1 in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: March 15th, 2010, 04:41 AM
  3. Pre Full Flash to Full Flash Tune Question
    By Donovan in forum Duramax 06 LLY / 06+ LBZ & LMM
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 13th, 2010, 11:43 AM
  4. Auto Cal out?
    By 98redorangeta in forum FlashScan V2 BB Logging
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 25th, 2008, 03:10 AM
  5. LB7 / LLY .cal file update - 08-Jan-2008
    By GMPX in forum General (Diesel)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: January 13th, 2008, 08:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •