Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 3.0 liter sidi poor fuel mileage

Default 3.0 liter sidi poor fuel mileage

Anybody have any suggestions on trying to get the fuel mileage up on a 2010 Terrain with 3.0 liter sidi. You would think with all the tech. in this engine it should be able to get more than 20 mpgs. I have the v2 flash and tune. I am new to this whole tuning thing so I apologize for my ignorance.

There is no tuning support for the V6 yet, so it's going to come down to...

• How the car is used.
    • The fuel being used.
    • Driving style

You may be able to adjust the auto settings though and that can help with mileage.

Simon.

Actually Simon, we do support the 3.0L and 2.4L SIDI as used in the Terrain, it uses an E39 ECM.
    Redonetoo, I think the problem comes down to the weight of the vehicle, getting all that mass moving with a small engine takes a lot of effort. If the Terrain has an instant MPG readout take a look when you take off from the lights. I've only just started playing around with the 3.0L V6, but so far the fuel economy is about on par with what I thought it would be (11.5 L/100), which is about 20MPG. I would expect about 26-27 MPG on the highway.
    I no longer monitor the forum, please either post your question or create a support ticket.

Default Poor fuel mileage

I am looking at the short term fuel trims and they seem to always stay in they negative. Also the o2 sensors seem to run constantly around .750 volts. Which makes me think it is rich. I have changed the gear ratio in the transmission to 3.39 to help with the weight factor. Just in my mind it makes no sense that an engine of this size gets close to the same mileage as a v-8. I had a 2000 5.3 in a full size truck that got 18.