Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 411 swap did not go well

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default 411 swap did not go well

This is my first try at any real tuning. (I've never done any of this before.)
    I'm swapping in a 411 PCM into a 2000 S10 2WD Auto (originally had a black box 494 VCM)
    I got the wiring diag from LexTech. The 411 came from a 2001 Chev TrailBlazer 4WD.
    I double checked the wiring, before doing a full-FLASH. I grabbed "2002 GMC Sonoma 4x2 Truck Automatic L35 4.3 Litre (OS 12212156) LS1_B.tun" from HoldenCrazy.com.
    I changed the VIN to match the original 494's VIN. I disabled the Generator F terminal(P1638), set the rear gear ratio(H0103), set the knock sens to resonate(B1402), and disabled the VATS(G1201).

It took a little coaxing to get it stated, but it finally caught. It didn't want to idle below 1000rpm. I kept it there until the coolant got above 160. It through P0300, so I did the CASE. Shut it down and waited. Through it all, the WB AFR stayed in the 12->16 range.

The small problem is, when I read the VIN w/ the V2 it does not give me the VIN that I programmed. I get the old TrailBlazer VIN. The OS ver matches the full-FLASH one that I prog'd.
    The big problem is that it is ticking and banging, like it dropped a valve. Is it real mechanical damage or could it be a problem with timing. It happened after firing up after running the CASE. Timing comes from the CKP, right?

I'm trying to figure out if I should swap back to the 494, or tear into the engine. (Yeah, I'm pretty sure it mechanical.)

Lifetime Member

Hello FeetDry,

Sorry to hear the swap has not gone well. I haven't worked on the 4.3 L V6 very much - mainly remove them to make way for a Gen III conversion. Hopefully someone with V6 tuning experience will jump in - that engine uses a 3x CKP and a CMP sensor on the distributor.