Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: light throttle surge.

Default light throttle surge.

I am trying to get rid of some surging / bucking that occurs at light throttle between 1000 and about 1800 rpm, if you apply more throttle or back off completely it goes away.

It happens when the engine is hot or cold, I've looked around at suggestions, such as too much air flow or too little, playing with timing, but as I'm new to tuning I don't know much about what I'm doing and I can't seem to work it out, nothing seems to change it.

Could anyone check out my tune and see if you could offer any tips or guidance.

It would be much appreciated, thanks.

Specs are:

year 2005
    Ls1 5.7
    ported stock heads
    4>1 long tube headers
    2.5 dual exhaust with high flow cats
    ORCAI
    3.9 gears
    M6
    230/230 110 comp cam
    electronic throttle stock.
    no MAF.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Default General quaestions/observations...

What vehicle is it...?

What is providing boost...?

The trans segment is from an A4...?

Are you seeing DTC P0102...?

PE could be a little richer if NA (say EQ 1.16), or even more richer if boosted.

Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    What vehicle is it...?

What is providing boost...?

The trans segment is from an A4...?

Are you seeing DTC P0102...?

PE could be a little richer if NA (say EQ 1.16), or even more richer if boosted.
    Thanks for your reply

Holden VZ 2005

Not sure what you mean by boost.

Thanks for pointing that out, the original tune was done by a "professional" tuner, but there have been so many issues with it, no wonder they didn't want to unlock it. Would having the A4 segment in there be causing many issues, or should I change it to an M6?

Yes P0102 is showing up.

Ok I will have a look at the PE.

Lifetime Member