Thread: Mail order tune off?

Default Mail order tune off?

Hey guys I have a mail order tune and being that i'm a novice at tuning i'd like you to take a look at my log and tune files. I have a 04 Silverado SS with the 6.0L. Mods include a tr224 cam, long tube headers, no cats, magnaflow muffler, cai, 8.1l truck injectors, tr55ix plugs, Taylor 10.4 plug wires, ported and polished tb, built 4l65e trans with stock converter, e-fans.
    The cam is on a 112lsa, and you can tell it's not stock, but the idle doesn't have the tuned cam sound to it. I noticed my ltft's are way off and I need to get this down. I also raised my shift points to 6000rpm, and lowered my fan turn on and off temps.

This tune has to get me by for a few months as I have a turbo ready to go on, and a new motor and trans in the works now. When I get the motor and turbo in i'm going with COS3 and running a sd tune.

Let me know what you think.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Hi sinr98,

A few quick comments:
    - B3616 and B3615 are too restrictive, set these to 65% below 3200 and 35% above 3200.
    - B3605 and B3648 are too lean when ECT is cold, set these tables to stock values.
    - B3601 is wrong if you're using pump gas which contains some amount of alcohol (I'm not sure how your PCM detects flex fuel).
    - D0961 and D0962 set these to 100% (same as D0960) to avoid conflict with PT up/down shift tables.

[ I'm not critiquing the mail order tune, I'm just looking at improvements ]

Thanks for the help Joe. I have made the changes other than the B3601. What should the AFR be at? Shouldn't it be commanding 14.68 with any alcohol content? The truck isn't a flex fuel truck. It is a 91octane and up only fuel. Thanks again Joe.

In the US, the following fuels can be found at the pump:
    - gasoline which would have stoich 14.6-14.7 if it contained no alcohol.
    - E10 which would have stoich 14.12 if it was really 10% alcohol, but it has been found to be as high as 15%.