Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: o8lmm new pcm help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default o8lmm new pcm help

    can anyone help. i am buying a new pcm for my truck. the pcm is brand new from dealer. the guy is saying i need a tech to to program them the first time. is this true? Can it be done with EFILIVE? Can i load the OS from the current pcm i have?

  2. #2
    Member Motorzane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Why are you getting a new PCM

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default

    i am replacing the original just for tuning purposes. just for dpf and egr delete. im keeping original for dealer visits.

  4. #4
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    269

    Default

    EFILive can full flash a blank LMM ECM. If normal dealer visit I say no problem even with tuned ECM in there. You be putting the DPF and DOC back on alot if you go a lot. Put the stock ECM back in and be throwing codes for no DPF and no or blocked EGR. If more of say a blown head gasket or slipping Allison then they will most likely know based on regen count it was modified for some period of time so it will cost you there. Seem you are worried about a warranty so might be set to leave as is. But do tuning and keep it the tuning on the low end of power.

    Brian
    2007.5 GMT-900 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD CC/LB LTZ 4x4 Summit White.
    With the LMM Duramax 365hp/660tq, MW7 Allison 1000 6-speed
    EFILive LMM DSP5 Settings, 500HP, 450HP, 400HP,Tow with Turbine Brake, and Stock HP.

    UA Steamfitter, Local 136 Evansville, IN - Remember if you want to play you got to pay.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member killerbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,059

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by akaponch View Post
    can anyone help. i am buying a new pcm for my truck. the pcm is brand new from dealer. the guy is saying i need a tech to to program them the first time. is this true? Can it be done with EFILIVE? Can i load the OS from the current pcm i have?
    Yes. We provide ECM's with factory tuning without a tech 2 routinely.
    Michael, Systems Engineer 04.5 D-max LLY, Phoenix, Arizona Email
    Custom Tuning Services
    DURAMAX/CUMMINS ECM's TCM's for sale, all years, 20% wholesale discount available
    EFILive's first VGT "Software Wastegate Tune"

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default

    thanks for the help. if its a factory blank pcm do i read the OS from old and program the new one with it? Is that what it means by blank? or will it come with an OS already. I already have an extra license for the Efilive in case i need it. i will be getting the new pcm tonight..

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member killerbee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,059

    Default

    It can be bench loaded with EFILive using the original tune.
    Michael, Systems Engineer 04.5 D-max LLY, Phoenix, Arizona Email
    Custom Tuning Services
    DURAMAX/CUMMINS ECM's TCM's for sale, all years, 20% wholesale discount available
    EFILive's first VGT "Software Wastegate Tune"

Similar Threads

  1. PCM Flash to Grand-AM Cup PCM
    By Rusty in forum Gen III V8 Specific
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: January 5th, 2009, 08:58 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 16th, 2008, 12:49 AM
  3. 2000 truck with locked PCM, buying new PCM
    By SimpleManLance in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 10th, 2008, 04:06 PM
  4. Save tune from PCM. Have FlashScan and a RR PCM about to go in
    By WestSide in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 11th, 2007, 08:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •