Thread: 2.2 Ecotec e37 stand alone

Default 2.2 Ecotec e37 stand alone

Can i use efi live to disable or apply patch to disable vats and bcu etc on 2008 cobalt donor car to work stand alone in sandrail? Can i later (as standalone ecm) tap into whatever necessary wires and modify programming for whatever reason? Possible to use to control turbo setup on down the road? noob here, obviously

Yes EFILive does support VATS disable on the E37 ECM, as well as disable DTC's for things that might be missing on the sandrail vs Cobalt.
    As far as Turbo support, you are in luck, most of GM's ECM from 2006+ are already able to support boosted engines (E37 included). Whilst there is no wastegate controls, you could at least control fuelling in to boost (up to 255kPa MAP).
    I no longer monitor the forum, please either post your question or create a support ticket.

Quote Originally Posted by GMPX View Post
    Yes EFILive does support VATS disable on the E37 ECM, as well as disable DTC's for things that might be missing on the sandrail vs Cobalt.
    As far as Turbo support, you are in luck, most of GM's ECM from 2006+ are already able to support boosted engines (E37 included). Whilst there is no wastegate controls, you could at least control fuelling in to boost (up to 255kPa MAP).
    Will a fairly intelligent noob be able to accomplish this? Im assuming i can obtain some wiring diagrams / pinouts from alldata or somthing...

Lifetime Member

To disable DTCs and VATS is about 20 mouse clicks then wait 30 seconds for a flash. No need to work with the wiring (unless you need to get a stock harness to work without a starter relay/etc).

For turbo support you will be able to control fueling and spark under boost without a problem, imagine thats down the road a little, but shouldnt be too difficult.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, tuned, turbo mods, etc.
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.