Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: 2 bar set up on a 99 k1500

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    95

    Default 2 bar set up on a 99 k1500

    with a 5.3L, current OS is 09379910... I would like to upgrade with minimal heartache to COS5, but need to retain auto trans and 4wd items... Truck has no MAF and 2 bar map sensor, switching from HPT
    what do I do?

  2. #2
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,165

    Default

    If a 4WD 12212156 OS with the same transmission will run on your PCM then that is what you need to start from.

    First you will have to use EFILive to read the tune from the PCM and save it to file.

    Then You would have to first copy all your tables (including transmission tables) into a copy of 12212156 (open two instances of the tunetool, copy table-by-table from the 09379910 file to 12212156 file, take your time, it will take a few hours, there's no other way, be sure to save the 12212156 file when finished copying).

    Then you can full flash the 12212156 file into your PCM and your vehicle should run the same.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    If a 4WD 12212156 OS with the same transmission will run on your PCM then that is what you need to start from.

    First you will have to use EFILive to read the tune from the PCM and save it to file.

    Then You would have to first copy all your tables (including transmission tables) into a copy of 12212156 (open two instances of the tunetool, copy table-by-table from the 09379910 file to 12212156 file, take your time, it will take a few hours, there's no other way, be sure to save the 12212156 file when finished copying).

    Then you can full flash the 12212156 file into your PCM and your vehicle should run the same.

    do you have a file i can start from?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    95

    Default

    I have a 2156 file, but I tried to do a full flash and it will reject it...?

  5. #5
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,165

    Default

    Then that OS won't go into that PCM.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    Then that OS won't go into that PCM.
    any other thoughts? different pcm? flash this one with tech II to that other vin?

  7. #7
    Joe (Moderator) joecar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    28,165

    Default

    When you tried to do a full flash of 12212156 into your PCM, what was printed out in the text box, can you paste it here...

  8. #8
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,907

    Default

    For a 99 truck, that means Vortec Black Box PCM. You need to upgrade to an 0411 and then do the OS flash/2Bar update.
    ~Erik~
    2013 Sonic RS Manual - 1.4L I4T E78, tuned, turbo mods, etc.
    2008 TrailBlazer SS 3SS AWD Summit White - LS2 E67/T42, bolt ons, suspension, etc.
    2002 Chevy TrailBlazer LT 4X4 Summit White - 4.2L I6 P10, lifted, wheels, etc.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    95

    Default

    This is a ls style pcm...

    I do NOT have a 2156 to start from, my dyslexia must have been kicking in... Any help with that?

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    95

    Default

    I have an 8322 but that has a 4l80e, can i swap trans segment?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. COS 3.3 bar map only reading 2.5 bar
    By BAD BOB in forum FlashScan V2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 8th, 2011, 11:27 AM
  2. 1998 k1500 5.0 305
    By JustinD in forum Vortec V6/V8 Specific
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 28th, 2010, 02:03 AM
  3. 3 Bar MAP sensor doesn't work with 3 Bar scaling!
    By Redline Motorsports in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: April 27th, 2010, 04:21 PM
  4. Best Way to Set up 98 for 2 bar MAP
    By CTP Racing in forum Forced Induction and Nitrous Oxide (N20)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 8th, 2006, 10:17 AM
  5. Custom 3 bar open loop O.S.... can I run closed for 1 bar?
    By nitrorocket in forum General (Petrol, Gas, Ethanol)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 7th, 2005, 08:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •